What Happens To People Who Promote Ponzi Schemes?

in #steemit7 years ago

What Happens To People Who Promote Ponzi Schemes?

It seems highly likely that some or most of the companies that are promising moon and stars (in realm of cryptos) to people will eventually turn out to be big scam / ponzi schemes. My question is though, if that happens and they're found guilty, would the people who promote these schemes on their youtube be equally guilty for luring people in for their own personal gains? Because I've seen countless videos on youtube telling us how great these companies are and how these people are making so much money, but the fact is, they're making most of their money from referrals, and they don't have much (or anything) to lose. These people are in the know, and the only thing that has worked for them is the money they're generating from referrals, so would they be equally guilty of deceiving people? (i.e. of course given that these companies are classified as scam or ponzi schemes)

Would love to hear your thoughts!

Sort:  

I doubt individuals affiliated will be liable. Nevertheless, I am very skeptical about all these types of businesses (and sick of seeing them in the mining sub-steemit) :3.

Upvoted and resteemed.

I do not think so, If I watch a youtube video on someone promoting a product or service and how well it is, it is still my choice to buy it or not. If that product fails or I lose money then its still my fault for not doing my research or due diligence.

But doesn't their convincing power persuade you? Also, the whole point of a ponzi is to get a set of people lure others in. It would be interesting to see if it were to happen, but I guess you're right.

Salesmen are paid to be convincing but its still a choice you have to make.

If they're working with the intention of scamming you, they need to be held accountable though! But yeah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48