You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Account Selling: Is There a Storm Coming to Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

Account selling is much trickier now that we have a 30 day account recovery feature enabled. It takes 30 days to ratify a change or the approval of the recovery agent.

The market for buying full accounts will be far less liquid and offer large buyers a chance to get in cheap. Reputation can be reset after a sale (it would be obvious on the blockchain in most cases). If it wasn't obvious on the blockchain or via account recovery agent testimony then the account would likely lack the ability to be recovered and/or could be "stolen" within 30 days. In other words it requires complex escrow arrangements over a long period of time to sell an account.

Sort:  

great progress to protect accounts!
Will you have a look at my ppt for new comers?
https://steemit.com/steemit/@facer/a-guide-to-steem-world

What makes you think I have a look at my ppt for new comers?

Thank you @dan for providing this valuable information. Like I said in a previous comment, there are a lot of things that could go wrong if accounts start to change hands without any consequences. Excuse me but I'm not very blockchain savvy, how could it be obvious to spot a recently sold account? I mean I guess it won't go down in the open, but I can think of some ways users could bypass being caught.

So if Swim sell a account ... Swiim could basically reclaim it within 30 days with the old password?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33