Why New Steemers Will Not Be Early Adopters

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Let's start with the Rogers' bell curve.

Current size of Reddit - 85,000,000 (Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors)
Current size of Facebook - 1,100,000,000 (Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors)
*sourced at http://www.ebizmba.com/articles/social-networking-websites

Current size of Steemit 65,000 (total accounts created)

If Steemit reaches the size of reddit (85,000,000), then every Steemer on Steemit right now (the first 65,000) will be in the first .07% of total users.

65,000 / 85,000,000 = 0.00076471 or 0.07%

So according to Rogers' bell curve, this means that everyone on Steemit right now is in the early stage of "Innovators".

If you're just signing up to Steemit now, it may seem like you've already missed the boat when you look at the 3 steem in your account compared to the dolphins and whales.

But the key to having success on Steemit is to realize its potential. If you act now as if Steemit is going to have a great future, then you're going to have a great future along with it.

Some Perspective

Yes @dantheman has a lot of steem, but think about all the time he spent realizing the potential of Steemit before Steemit even existed.

Years of investment = millions of steem

I @dan-atstarlite have around 1600 steem, but I signed up in May just cause I thought the idea had great potential, I was posting content for almost two months without knowing if it would really make money or not.

Months of investment = thousands of steem

My point is don't give up if you're not making a lot of steem at first. Remember you are likely in the "Innovator" stage of Steemit.

My Recommendations to New Steemers

1 - Take a couple weeks and just play around with the site. Learn as much about Steemit as possible, without putting pressure on yourself to make money.

2 - Figure out if you think Steemit has the potential to be the size of Reddit or Facebook. Figure out if you believe it's a good place for you to invest your time.

3 - Spend time thinking about what value you can bring to the site long term. What is your area of expertise and how can it help the Steemit community.

4 - Have fun on Steemit and be patient with your financial goals. Just like everything in life... money will come or it won't... and if it doesn't... at least you were having fun.

but I think the money will come...

I personally think Steemit has the potential to blow past Reddit and maybe even Facebook someday

Sort:  

I've been at this for awhile but it takes time, don't expect to be a #steem millionaire in a week..... Do what makes you happy, get a good fan base, buy steem when its low (power it up), spread the word about steem and you should do great. This post is right, nice post @dan-atstarlite

It seems there is quite a few members getting discouraged, including myself. Some of us work for hours writing good content and only getting a few to even see it. It also seems only a few are reaping the rewards. If something does not change it will not grow to the levels of reddit or facebook. You have to keep people involved to keep them on the site. The rewards need to be spread out more. Ive seen plain simple posts with a thousand steem dollars on them. Ive seen others that just copy and past that have 5000.While others spend hours to write a good article and may only get 2 votes.
If enough get discouraged then this will steam out quick.

Yes, I joined about a month ago and was posting regularly, but not a lot. I felt like I was getting a slowly building trend for votes and earnings, but then all of a sudden in the past week and half, it all went away. It is frustrating, but I'm trying to stay with it. This article is encouraging because I feel better knowing that it is still so early and there is still so much potential...I just wish I could get my votes back1

I think the bigger problem is the payment itself ... there's a reason why people use facebook without getting paid for it ... they are in fact doing it, just for the fun of it

I agree, and actually just wrote a post about a potential problem which steemit might have... rewarding people with small amounts of money actually reduces their intrinsic desire to do what you are rewarding.

Hi llawen, I've written a blog post about the problem of small external rewards affecting people's intrinsic motivation negatively, which I think you might be interested to read.
All the best @freewill

I want to publish comics and graphic novels on Steemit. I think the platform is great for it and I have many of the things necessary for success already in place. I just want to build on my reputation first before releasing my content and art.

Sounds awesome - can't wait to follow!

Didn't get very early on steemit, but it sure feels that we are still in the early stages with things changing around here pretty much almost on a daily basis... :)

Will be or will not be? Check the title :) The post is good, but the title could fail it.

They "will not" be "Early Adopters" according to Rogers' bell curve, they will be "Innovators" - one better! Unless I'm missing something else... Thanks for the comment:)

After re-reading it, I see it now. It was a little confusing though based on my prior understanding of what "Early Adopters" meant. I went into the article thinking "Early Adopters" were the first users.

You probably could make it a little more clear that we are still in a stage before the "Early Adopters" stage. The picture shows it, but I missed that the first time reading.

i've just begun and am very excited about the possibilities! The creative juices are beginning to flow as steemit is promising for more reasons than money!

Can someone please tell me (or point me in the right direction for help) as to how to insert pictures into my articles? How do I get a URL for my photos? I know it's a dumb question--and I am not a new computer user--maybe it's the beta platform that has me confused?---but I need help. And thanks in advance.

as dangis said; point being; you need to upload the pictures somewhere else first, you can't upload them to steemit directly, but they do have a separated site for it ... that's the link dangis gave you

Thanks guys! Steemit guys are the greatest!

Good info and you have a new follower and since you're into numbers check out
https://steemit.com/steemit/@me-tarzan/evening-update-steem-daily-data-8-15-2016

Thanks for the encouragement! I'm new to Steemit and felt a little wind go out of my sails when my first post only made a quarter. But hey, it made something though!!

So this post encouraged me to stick with it, hang around here, and have fun... which is what I intended to do anyway. It's just nice to hear that coming from someone who's been around for a bit!

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80