Word of the day “Spam” - Tagging Me Will Not Gain You Positive Attention

in #steemit6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/d00k13-word-of-the-day-spam--tagging-me-will-not-gain-you-positive-attention-aixtbxxr-1537801333018.png

Seems like lately this is happening a lot, tagging me for absolutely no reason on a 💩 D00k13 💩 post. I guess it is to be expected as I gain popularity getting visibility on my works but it also gives me the opportunity to educate prior to taking any action, typically I mute these individuals after I downvote their post!

Maybe they never thought past the point of just posting, maybe it’s cultural differences, maybe it’s intentional spam, who’s to say really but by the time I made it to 44 rep I had started adding value to the platform! These kinds of posts, looking through all your works, single picture with maybe 5 lines of text plus tagging many of the larger or more active accounts do nothing but attempt to take value from our platform!

What are you offering for my attention?

I value my interaction thus being tagged has much importance to me, if I am tagged most often you can count on me stopping in to see why! Something like this deserves a downvote just for this fact, misuse of the tagging feature!

Again I ask why are you tagging me on a spam post? I know many people make these types of posts but also many of us refuse to, I completely refuse. As someone whom supports creation I ask what are you creating?

Even in this response to you @hamid887 I have taken the time to write it out and create an original title graphic, congrats your the topic of my “Word of the day” post!

No, I Will Not Support You

You have given me no reason to even consider supporting your work, actually I feel the opposite is true. You have given me all the reason in the world to downvote and mute you, which I’d imagine many others would feel the same way. All of us whom put in the effort would have no respect for this level of spam contribution. I will not even comment on your works to educate you and the only thing I will do is cast a downvote say you tag me again!. This post will be your only education from me as a warning and example of the minimal I expect!

I am a vlogger, can you comprehend the time I put into a single video? The details required to get a specific effect with my shots? The challenge of encapsulating a message within the video then reinforced by editing and effects? What effort have you shown by spam posting?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!!!

Thats it @d00k13 OUT

Join Us #OneLoveDtube Discord Server

Join The #OneLoveDTube Curation Trail, Earn Rewards!

Check Out Partiko Discord Server

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Since this is so well written out - and because I am lazy...can I use this if I ever get this kind of tagging?
:)

lol, but I must admit, you write well...thanks for kicking some butt - sometimes it feels like I'm one of the few doing so, but I mostly attack those using Steemit to sell some kind of fake service-product - it angers me because it is those who are in most need who always fall for their kind of sh*t.

Thank you for the kind words, yes feel free to use it just don’t go dropping my post links on a whales post or anything like that 😏 downvotes can hurt a lot!

Yea even these people spamming could be considered those that need help the most in many cases yet by not feeling out the platform dynamics they are not helping their cause, a gift economy cannot persist if those receiving the gifts consistently beg without earning the gift in the first place!

Big believer, you get what you deserve and well I have hustled to get here with little to no instruction I have figured out how to succeed. I expect the same from others.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I too have been getting intermittently tagged by random people who have likely found me on the more recent lists put out of people who will respond to and upvote your posts. Sometimes it comes in form as you've shown above with 15 other names tagged, or it comes in a single comment saying something incredibly brief and vague like "Very nice." and then a plea to upvote and follow them back because they've chosen to follow me.

I am really nobody here. I don't know hardly anyone. I am still trying to find time to get hooked up with a decent community to help steer me in better directions for content and votes I give out and votes that I get. I basically ignore the spam or desperation comments or posts too. It is almost comical to find them in my "mentions" when I see that the post is poorly written, MIGHT have an image in it and also is essentially begging.

I imagine that's why there are communities here that basically stay in cliques, which I need to find one or two of, because the average person is either ignoring my content and/or I'm not finding a ton of good content to fairly spend my votes on. Instead, I have to sell my votes just to earn some extra curation, because if I manually curated, I'd never use all of the power with the amount of time I have (and I have a good amount of time to spend here). RANT MODE OFF. Ugh.

Mmhmm community is where it is at, trying to filter through the crud listed in trending or through the ever growing amount of new posts can be tiring. I stay largely within the communities I am apart of as I have a sense of loyalty and obligation to support them in return.

I tend to stay away from vote selling, I aim to generate rewards from my content creation yet I understand many are more interested in consuming and commenting on others works. I am however part of multiple curation trails and I think this is something everyone should look into, generate rewards for yourself and also help promote the content that has been fairly curated.

Thank you for stopping in and commenting 💪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the advice. I need to run into seasoned people such as yourself. Believe me, I'd rather not sell votes either. I think the whole concept is odd. I'd rather be left with big votes to award deserving people, but without the right community, it hardly seems appropriate for me to to dish out $0.20 votes to people during a lot of my reading sessions and the more that I let the votes sit at 100% and idle, I feel as though I am wasting power. Perhaps curation trails are my answer. I know what they are but don't follow or belong to any.

I'd rather see double digit votes go to people who are putting up good content rather than to someone who pays for them and I end up voting for something that may or may not do anything for me and very little for them.

I agree with you, I feel as if I’m wasting my power if I let my VP sit 100% for too long. I started very early using something like steemauto for votes on authors I wish to support to keep my VP lower. That said I have a backwards approach at curation, I believe support is #1 then curation.

I pick authors I believe show the potential to achieve and use my support to encourage them to gain attention of further curation along with proving guidance of how to get there. This lead to me collaborating with @dnews to cofound #OneLoveDTube community which aims to do just that, support, encourage, guide, curate.

Never did I think being the founder would mean my own success with the success of the community but hey I’ll take it. Encourages me to strive for success and set an example of what I expect. Every step of my journey has been about personal growth through challenging myself.

Hint looking at the rewards side of things, @DTube pays curation back through @dtube.rewards and I have found voting on DTube content to be my biggest roi for votes with this system. Find the authors you love that regularly get DTube votes such as coruscate or any of the other main creators and add them to your Steemauto.com fanbase, free service and very customizable. You could also join the #OneLoveDTube curation trail(links bottom of every post) we aim at empowering our creators for what ever they choose to create and also through our discord have promotion channels which our curators regularly browse, voting on with our trail the posts that inspire or add value to the platform in some way.

It’s a fine line between aiming for rewards and still doing quality curation as much of the quality work is still overlooked. As I stated I take a bit of a backwards approach with support for the author.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @d00k13!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.429 which ranks you at #6782 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 36 places in the last three days (old rank 6818).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #151.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Does that include your comments? engaging

Posted using Partiko iOS

Got A Question You Want Answered?

Ask me anything on my “Dragging You Up With Me” Random Comment Giveaway and get a chance to win the pot 3 Days left before payout! Also possibility for boost and shoutout at my discretion!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79