You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Prices Rising And You - Not So Awesome (SBD, Steem, and Steemians' Wallets)

in #steemit7 years ago

You make a good point there @geekorner !
I also understand why SP is arranged like that...because ...to be harder to take the money out (13 weeks ) and to ensure the blogs succes.
If all steemians just suddenly take all their money out just imagine what great impact will be to Steemit community.
It will destabilize the whole market and value of steem.
Note: It did happen in the middle of 2016 from july till december steem got way down til 10 cents from 3 $

But!

With all these things that doesnt mean there is no need for improvement and for sure is pleanty room for improvement here because if we have a strong "backbone" Steem/SBD will grow to values bigger the 100$ and even 1000$ in the near future.

Sort:  

I'm certainly not recommending Steem Power to be allowed to be taken out more easily, I'm just pointing out that the way in which things are set up means that the cries of joy over Steem's rising value are premature.

As for Steem's value increasing the value of the platform, that's actually a thorny issue that is not nearly as simple as it appears, which I will cover this weekend / early next week when I do a big overview/breakdown of the Steemit system as a whole.

SBD though, I wouldn't rely on its value climbing nearly so high, because unlike Steem that has a "use", SBD has a constant downward pressure by being something you mostly look to sell. Also, while Steem is a solid cryptocurrency due to its marketshare, speed of transactions, and the amount of it out there, SBD does not share the marketshare, and the amount of it which is generated is quite limited. So I don't recommend banking on a rise in SBD, the external factors are against it.

Thanks man for explaining you make a good point there .
You are right about SBD even me I like to sell or convert it into steem, even that I know that it is important and I think last year some big guys (whales) from Steemit and Youtube were discussing on finding a way to encourage users to hold more SBD.
Sadly I dunno what the end result of that discussion was because I left for a 8 months contract on the sea and I could not track their "movements" on low speed internet.
Still I would love to see more of your posts about the matter so I put a follow there. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65