Curator Cat Considers: Doing your best on Steemit, even when you're very very tiny!

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit is a big wide world, and sometimes it seems even bigger when you are just a little cat.

Sometimes it feels like you just get lost in the crowd; a huge crowd. Who sees us? Who cares? Moreover, how do we keep up our enthusiasm and continue plugging away and doing our best, even when it feels like we are invisible?

The idea of having a "cat blog" isn't exactly new, and you Humans do tend to like cat and kitten content. Which is very very cool! And bless you all for that!

OnArm
I guide the web action by draping myself across my Human's mouse arm!

An Itty-Bitty Tiny Wee Milestone

I noticed today — for the first time — that my itty-bitty tiny upvotes on people's posts and comments went from being worth absolutely nothing to being worth... $0.001. 

Insignificant as it may seem, it was a moment of "I have value!"

Of course, cats don't really measure their values in dollars and cents, but hope is still an important thing. No matter who we are, feline or human, we do need hope on some level. Hope is what makes us go forward; hope is what makes us do our best, even when we are very, very tiny.

Chaise
Watching the world from the back of the leather chaise in mom's office

And hope sometimes brings great rewards!

For example, I basically won the "Cat Lottery" when my Humans found me at the local shelter and gave me a Forever Home. I had hoped to be adopted, in spite of the many negative stories that "black cats get adopted last."

Doing My Best

The idea behind the Curator Cat blog was always two-fold:

To share cute cat pictures (mostly of myself!) and to promote and support cat-related content on Steemit. This community's main areas seem to be "talking about cryptocurrencies" and "talking about Steemit." Everything else is a lot thinner, it seems.

There are exceptions, of course. This next picture is for @manorvillemike, this is Kramer (left), Brady (top) and Big (right) who always slept in a cluster. I never met them, but my Human has fond memories of them.

ThreeCats
Former housemates Kramer, Brady and Big, napping.

The second half of the mission was always to simply support what I and my Human feel to be worthy content. Original ideas and stories told from the heart. Stories that may well be "commercially viable" (from the Steemit perspective) but which are clearly not told purely from the perspective of making money

Not that there is anything wrong with money.

When there is money, my Human brings home toys and kitty treats! Hence, I like money too... at least by association

My Little Tiny Goals

Anyway, my first little tiny goal is to reach 100 followers, which is not all that far away. 

Kitten
The obligatory Curator Cat (kitten) selfie!

Within the foreseeable future, I also hope to reach a point where my little contributions here at least make $1.00 or more per post, on a somewhat regular basis. 

It's not really "about the money," it's about building enough voting power to reward those who are sharing really good and interesting things! Because that gives hope, and hope is the thing that makes the whole machinery move forward.

Maybe some day I, too, will have a post that "goes viral!" Who knows? I know it can happen: here's why: Both my Humans and my Human's "business" Steemit had early posts of theirs end up "organically" on the Trending page!

But I am not going to hold my breath! That would just be silly.

So have some cute cat pictures, in the meantime! And thank you for supporting a little cat's dreams of having his own blog!

Sort:  

Oh, you are adorable! You inspire me to get together some photos of my black cat that went over the rainbow bridge in January, and my new black kitten who is so energetic, brave and fearful all at the same time. Thank you so much for sharing! Your selfie is star material!!

I'm sorry to hear that, but glad that you have a new kitten! Black cats are the BEST!

=^..^=

Cats taking over the internet, cats taking over the blockchain and crypto! It had to happen!

I have include you in my curation entry here.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@bengy/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-2-entry

Thanks @bengy, that's super nice of you — I can use all the visibility I can get!

=^..^=

It would help if you weren't a black cat!

Woohoo congrats on the achievement you adorable little panther! It for sure feels like comments and posts can definitely get lost or unnoticed on steemit so I think we can all relate to those feelings. Just keep doing what you do! :)

Thank you! Just planning to keep plugging along here. Just like one drop of water at a time eventually fills a bucket.

=^..^=

Sounds like you have a good head on your furry shoulders. Keep helping your Human to make posts like this one and you will soon be swimming in cat toys.
images.duckduckgo.jpg

Swimming in cat toys? I like that idea! Meow!

=^..^=

Soju: All the best on your journey!! Not long to go til 100 followers! Meow!

Thank you! It shouldn't take too long...

=^..^=

You can't go wrong with cat pictures, people seem to be obsessed with them. Dogs are beautiful but not as popular as cats.

Yeah, cats are very popular. The thing with dogs is that there are so many very different looking breeds, and dog people seem more loyal to their own breed. Cat people just love cats!

=^..^=

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 06:52:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 40.45/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66996.66
ETH 3235.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63