You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Predictability of which Posts by the New & Talented Authors Will Earn Big or Not - Is There an Evil Side to Curation?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Very nicely worded post. When people do things they don't genuinely enjoy for monetary rewards it is often reflected rarely means it is done well (that may be a vastly generalized pseudo-truism, but I hope it make sense). Plus, as I have seen a few times, people write great stuff that ticks off somebody or a group of people and their rewards get pummeled, so writing just for the money is a bad option for that reason as well.

Plus, if like me you focus more on serious posts with critical commentary about how the world appears to be losing its mind, your audience is going to be smaller than cryptos or humor or other things. Have the right mind set and realistic expectations.

There is a lot of emphasis on rewards, and I totally understand it, cash motivates, it makes life easier, it helps us feel like our time has been spent productively. In our world in general, financial rewards are often considered a sign of appreciation, but it is only a placeholder for the real thing.

I generally try and show my appreciation considering I can't impart much in the way of rewards yet. And I know when someone writes a thoughtful comment and engages with me in a post, that is worth more than a big upvote (then again I have a steady job so I can piggy bank whatever I might get here for the future - if Steemit survives, if the world doesn't explode, etc. etc.) I also joined Steemit primarily because it cannot be censored, but that is another story.

Thereto, writers have to be honest with themselves about if they are they here to share a message and find their place in a community of like-minded souls (which means relationship building and may not be financially lucrative) or to make followers and cash? Not that the two are mutually exclusive, but I think the former is going to be more rewarding and make the inevitable low value posts easier to bear.

Alright, this is getting long so I am going to round it off here. I found you by following a comment you left for @value-customer that I liked. After perusing your blog and checking out some of your stuff it looks fun, I'll follow and see where your adventures take you. Cheers! - CZ

Sort:  

Plus, if like me you focus more on serious posts with critical commentary about how the world appears to be losing its mind, your audience is going to smaller than cryptos or humor or other things. Have the right mind set and realistic expectations.

I totally understand this, I can't write about positivity, success or crypto stuff, if I do it only meant that I'm here for the money. I won't be a hypocrite and say I was not lured, my emotion was played by the curators who discovered my posts, who heavily rewarded me at the beginning, perhaps it was normal to feel this way. I would have been ok when my long posts remained 0.06 cents, I would just have continued writing anyway, for the love of it. I just hope steemit someday will hide the $ sign on each post.

I like to write realistic stuff and all the things I have observed during my travel. And no, I didn't stay in posh hotel or fancy resorts, and I've seen real life of people, the issues and the system that enslaves many of us.
I recently came back from a 4-year trip and found myself scrambling and putting back my life. I found a job and lost it. Then a friend introduced me to steemit. However, it obvious I cannot just depend on it. So, anyway, I'm still failing at things and I'm so good at it.

Whenever I'm taking a walk, lost in my thoughts, reminiscing about my travel, one idea will pop up again in my mind and I couldn't wait to write. I guess this is one thing that makes me jump out of bed every morning. I just want to get all these stories out of my system.

@cupidzero I just woke up to see if I would get any honestly upvotes and comments, and I say wow. This is the best comment I've read so far. I am following you back and check what you've got in your portfolio. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65