You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Turning Higher Education Inside Out With Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Thanks again for the great comments. You’ve given me all the reading I need on this Sunday morning! :). I have heard of that German system as well. I think it makes sense. My wife is a guidance counselor in a public high school and she was just telling me that one of the local community colleges wants to start a program where they will send teachers to the high school to teach tech classes. The idea is students could get a regular hs education plus the tech training. In one way this frustrates me because we really just need more tech schools at the high school level, but at least the college is trying to address the problem. We are very unlikely to see any big investment by states in tech education since most are already cash strapped and most Americans have been convinced that higher taxes are bad, so the solution probably does fall on the shoulders of colleges.
Thanks for the support with the idea of teaching on Steemit. Do you want to take a public speaking course? I might do that as a test. But like we are finding with the 5k training program, it might take a little while to get enough of a following to put together a class.

Sort:  

I know. This is an issue that swings political. We're not Europe. We envy their better quality of life in these respects, but we don't want to make the changes that will get us there. That's a very frustrating discussion that I have all too often, and rarely does it reach a very constructive conclusion. I agree, it's good that technical schools are trying to fill the gaps in these respects, even though they can only do so much with what little means they're allotted.

A public speaking course? "Eh, um, ahh", if you want to hear a lot of that and enjoy the ever amusing sight of a beet red blushing face, then sure. That is not and has never been one of my strengths. Maybe that's why I should take a course on it. Hmm. I would be happy to engage, yes. I'd participate to whatever capacity I have time for no matter the subject. I'm always open to learning. :)

This site feels like such a win-win environment for all. I love getting the opportunity to support others, and I'm learning so much in doing so all at the same time. Maybe there's really something to this idea of gift-economy. http://gift-economy.com/

http://gift-economy.com/language-as-gift-and-community/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46