You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ALL IN on Steem with now 100MV!

in #steemit7 years ago

Well my friend Jerry, I follow upvote and resteem everything you do, you (and everyone else) are not returning the favor. As a minnow, I have been on Steemit for 3 months and for example, wrote and performed an original song a few days ago, and if you take out my own upvotes and bot hits from my own funds and self promotion, I have netted about 4 cents. I could see why you are so excited about Steemit, I mean everything you do goes to at least $200 - and yes you deserve it because you are providing excellent content, but as a new user, I am not sure this platform is truly sustainable. It appears to me that 3% of the users like you are gaining 98% of the money. I have about $1000 worth of SP and I am powering down in frustration. I would not advise investing everything in Steemit, I like the platform, but it doesn't seem very fair to new users and I don't see it being around for the long haul without some major structural changes. Good luck to you with your investment, and thank you for your videos, you seem like a genuine good guy and I am glad you are experiencing such success, but be careful putting all your eggs in one basket, a basket that looks a bit like a ponzi scheme to me. Don't get me wrong I do hope Steem goes to $10 or higher, but..... I could also see it failing as it is a strange lopsided social media platform. If I can't experience a bit of success, here how can I convince my Facebook friends to come over? For what? To be completely ignored by the community? If you care here is a link to my 4 cent post that has made me decide to power down

Sort:  

You're complaining that you're giving all your votes to the whales so you're pretty much part of the problem. Instead of doing that why don't you start interacting and voting on posts of users the same size as you, then you'll form relationships with those people and you can up vote each others posts.

well in theory you are correct, however this is an unusual game, and the game most play is to only "upvote" posts early on that they expect to go higher, and therein somehow obtain "Curation rewards" sort of like daytrading a bit, so people are hesitant to give upvotes to people that are new whose posts won't increase after their upvote, becaue by doing so they would be losing money, but if you catch a Jerry Banfield post at $20... heck yes maximum upvote that sucker! that's how Steemit works - so while I agree with you, I am part of the problem that I am complaining about... its a catch-22 isn't it?
and agreed I am attempting to network with users around my size in my areas of interest, I am also trying to work out cross promoting through different platforms. It takes awhile, I have canceled my Powerdown for now but I am watching this thing closely trying to figure it out. thanks for responding

The problem is though I believe that a portion of up votes within the first 30 minutes go to the author and not the curators so catching one of Jerry's posts straight away and up voting it won't actually lead to a high curation reward. It only works if you find a post that is good, doesn't have many up votes and was posted over 30 minutes ago. All of Jerrys and other popular users posts will already have received a lot of up votes within 30 minutes so voting on their posts is not actually the best strategy for getting curation rewards, I don't think a lot of people know that

hmmm thanks for that information, no I don't totally understand it obviously, I am trying to learn the best strategy to gain traction in between my posts. Simply responding with a kind and insightful analysis to a post with good content and a solid following has probably earned me more steemDollars or (whatever?) Steem power or Curation rewards? than my actual posts themselves. If you have any insight on the best strategy for creating value in between postings please let me know. Our friend @mbg11 is also interested, and since I don't really understand it I can't explain anything really useful to him with his question above. If you understand it please share. I will maximum upvote your information and share it with other users who are also feeling their way in the dark here. Thank you @captaincanary for writing back to me and giving me such a generous "upvote" cheers... @cryptoted

I'm no expert but just try to spend as much time here reading posts and commenting as you can. Not just any comments though, good comments which show that you've read the post and thought of something useful to say. Even if you disagree with what the author is saying share your thoughts and chances are other people who read the post will share your opinion and up vote you. I've got over 500 followers but none of my posts have gone viral, I've got them all just from commenting and interacting on other peoples posts. The most effective way to get somebody attention is to write a few good comments on several of their posts, that way they will almost definitely check your blog out. Lastly there are contests on Steemit such as the Open Mic which is for musicians, and other ones for photographers etc. This is a good way to be judged on your quality of content rather than the size of your following and there is usually prize money up for grabs

https://busy.org/curation/@liberosist/mind-your-votes-ii-a-guide-to-maximizing-your-curation-rewards

This is how it worked before fork 20, not sure if anything happened after, I think it is still 2% though per vote

I'm so confused how the voting system works. Can you give me a link or something to look it up? thanks...

yes so am I... I wish I had something insightful to share with you on this topic. I have asked @captaincanary for more information, although he has already given good insight with his response. Hopefully he will hit us with some more tips or insight as to how this voting system does work. thanks for your inquiry. take care

There you go ...9 cents! Don't give up yet, I'll follow you.

thanks bro i appreciate that... not giving up, just powering down until I figure out how to play this game. Why do i have $650 SteemPower? to give to the whales who are already killing it? No more... thanks again

nice .....Give and get. Go, Go, Go!

I think the biggest risk is similar platforms that are in the works. When they r released especially the ones that take a middle of the road approach in centralization vs decentralization might have an impact of steem prices. Donot expect a platform without competition!!! So I woudn't bet everything on steem where as I would bet a higher amount on graphene based block chains and may be EOS

The news members upvote whales ... the whales upvote whales...No reciprocity

exactly, that is how it appears. it seems awfully hard to get started. good luck to you i will follow you

This is absolutely true, very well pointed it out !!!
ALL Whales SHOULD/MUST support, upvote and comment on the work of new/budding Steemians, if they want this whole thing to get bigger, better and wiser and the price of Steem to rise and achieve newer heights and greater dimensions.

I have broad shoulders and I carry whales. My muscles will one day make me a whale......I hope.
Steem pennies add up!

If I was a whale I would spread the love to the shallow water dwelling minnows and remember my roots.

So well said. Hope the whales are listening.
Cheers

amen brother, following...

Not everybody has found you :)

I'm still starting posts and deleting them before I submit because 1) I'm not used to talking about myself 2) I'm always just a little worried that I will offend someone

I've stayed away from opinionated writing for this reason. I'll follow you @cryptoted, don't give up!

the most important in steemit is to not give up, I understand you, I am also about 3 months here, jerry is earning because he has a lot of subcribers on youtube and he is very famous in crypto world, + he is investing a lot in advertising steemit, he invest not a lot of money but a lot of time also ! we have to learn from him and try to do like him ! good luck I will follow you and I will try to support you with some upvotes !

I agree with you. I don't think most newbies realize how, ironically, the power/influence of this platform is decentralized in the hands of the few. I hope this can be addressed because when mainstream media finally discover Steem, they are going to, wrongly but understandably, use incorrect hyperbolic phrases like MLM, ponzi etc.

Thats true really and its not the best content that is always rewarded that depend. That why everyone should be free to do what he wants...

here i could only upvote 0.01cent. dont give up keep it going. please follow me too.thanks

I followed you my fellow 0.01 center.

click my button
follow me!

Unfortunately, the only thing I can say is that everything in life is like Steemit. Life isn't fair, it challenges and pushes and shoves you down. If you're one of the lucky ones, it doesn't stuff your nose in the dirt and spit on you. If you are strong enough, you can overcome those obstacles and still make something from next-to-nothing.

As a fairly new entrant myself (since late May of this year) I can honestly say I was super-frustrated, but then I found the PAL network and Discord... from there I have learned some nice techniques (although they don't always work well) that have increased my earnings somewhat. I figure it this way, really, if you post enough comments to make $.20/day, that's $.20/day more than you had before. Then, when you have the unique high-value post, it's just icing on the cake.

Just stick with it, keep posting solid content, find your niche, and (I know this is going to sound rude, so I apologize in advance) stop blaming other people. It's not their fault that they've succeeded and you haven't. Sometimes it's as simple as being in the right spot at the right time.

That's my 2-cents-worth.

Exactly. Every other social media platform gives you nothing and people have been using them for decades! - Every dollar or a cent compared to that is a welcomed change. I've been using Reddit for around 5 years and I've gotten 0 cents out from it.

Thanks for your best comment. I really appreciate your patience to write such a meaning full and lengthy comment. Keep up with good work. :)

I followed you my fellow 0.01 center.

click my button
follow me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51