You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting Started Mining Steem on Windows [Step by Step Guide]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

You need to first find a block in order to get listed on the witness queue, then you start moving up in the queue and when you get on the first spot you need to produce a block in order to get a reward. Wn you find a block on steemd.com you should see a line saying your username found a pow, thenou shoudl get listed in the miner-witness queue.

Sort:  

how do you find a block and how long should it take? my miner has been running for 3 days and still my number in the que is always 1 or 2 above

The time can vary based o n your hashrate, how many HPS are you getting? Look at the number in minutes reported by the miner, that is an estimate on how long it may take you to find a block. Once you mine a block you get included in the witness-miner queue...

Take a note of the estimated time to produce a block, it is something like 81 hours with your current hashrate, so it can indeed take 3 days or more days, especially if you don't have luck.

Just got my first block! :)

Do I need internet connection to carry out the mining process.

I just checked and it looks like I found a POW 13 hours ago. I checked the list and don't see myself on the miner-witness queue, nor do I see any extra STEEM POWER in my account.
I don't know if I'm doing anything wrong.....or if I'm just not understanding this yet (I'm used to mining crypto-currencies).

When you find a POW mining you get included at the back of the witness-miner list, then climb to the top spot and then you should witness a block creation and get a reward. This moves you out of the witness-miner queue and you start mining again in order to get included once more in the list. It should normally take between 1 and 2 hours to move to the top spot in the list.

Sometimes when your turn comes you may not successfully do your job as a witness in the short timeframe you are being given and you get not reward, should not happen very often, but can still happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33