Dear Diary: This Is What Happens When A Wrong Dialysis Nurse Cannulate You For Dialysis

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

P_20180120_042644.jpg

Thank God that I have some tissue paper and surgical tape to fix this mess that a new dialysis nurse had made on my arm. I am not anemic so bleeding is not that of an issue but I am lamenting about the practice in my dialysis center where they always give me the new nurse to cannulate me.

It hurts when they do not get to rightly place the needle on my arterio-venous vein considering that it is a big vein. This is probably the third time that the new nurse pricked me and didn't get to learn about perfecting a skill that she should already learned a few days ago. I really do feel that I am being made a guinea pig in my dialysis center.

Other patients can choose who will prick them but for my case it is not the same. Now I will just protest if a certain nurse that is having a hard time cannulating me before will get to prick me again because it is really painful when they get to stick you with one of the biggest needles in the medical world, it's crazily scary.

I often allow new nurses to prick me but this one really couldn't learn so I won't allow her anymore next time because there are many of them in the center anyway and skipping her "practice" on me would not really affect me. It is maddening when they do not get the vein, it is painful.

Sort:  

That's seriously uncool! Speak up and stand your ground. Grabehan naman yung pagpraktisan ang pasyente... 😯

Anytime you want to receive such treatment again, please and please !! Pray earnestly prior to it because most death and complication that occur in hospital is as a result of mistake from hospital attendance due to their unskilful or absent mindedness. Sorry my dear.

Sorry my dear , you have to bear with some medical practitional because some enter into it just because is a lucrative profession knowing fully that it is not their vocation ,while some do make silly mistake because they are in a hurry without considering that they endanger another person' s life. Anytime you want to receive serious treatment pray heavily so that God will remove mistake from your side.Take heart my dear!

puwede pumili ang iba pero kayo hindi , ano yan my friend, depende kong sinong may kay? Pili karin sa susunod hindi puwede maulit yan :(

Dude, thats a serious bloodbath. And what you say, shunts shouldnt be too difficult to dart in. If I see yours, its superficial enough to have a good hit.

Speak up when you can! We nurses need feedback as well!

It is just a superficial big vein ad she just can't hit it. I was just like being stabbed in the street with her botched work.
It is different here than the US, we have a lower healthcare standards which I am sad about.

Which totally sucks actually!

I live on a tiny island in the Caribbean, so our standards are also way lower than US standards, but atleast speaking for myself I will always try my best to upgrade and improve everything and be as sweet as I can for patients.

You stay strong there!!

Awww. 😢
I have no words for how brave you are. By the way, have you read @mermaidvampire’s blog about you?

Thank you @meetmysuperego
I just saw her post. She is also a talented blogger and nice to know that she is an admin of a FB group for dialysis patients. But I hope they will all go and let steemit help them in many ways possible.
God Bless and keep you.

I've experienced the same thing, when I was in hospital because of illness deman, nurse inject three-time infusion can just get my pulse @cryptopie

@cryptopie you can request a different one next time. I hope you feel better!

A little mistake causes a lot of harm to people. Whatever work should be done with great care, I pray, you will get well soon.

Oh heck no! That's unacceptable! Don't allow any new practicing nurse touch you! You have every right to refuse!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98