You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meaningless Comments/Spam

in #steemit7 years ago

People are just posting comments on steemit for the sake of getting upvotes. Now, I am also experiencing more user than bots who're posting random comment on my post. The comment which has nothing to do with my post are just unbearable. Minnows are really struggling nowadays on steemit to get some upvotes and earn some money. i don't know when this madness will end.

Sort:  

great post

It will be very difficult to reduce the meaningless comments as everyone is incentivized to comment as much as possible with the hopes of earning steem.

quality comments reward better ;)

Darn straight, we minnows are getting KILLED out there. The only option is to pay real $$$ for steems, which is now fine due to price drop, lolz. But I think we can all agree that the main post graphic is backwards and the blahs are normally coming for the chick - HA !!!ducks!!!

Yep . totally agreed mate. We minnow are just getting squeezed here like a fish. For a post, a lot of hard work is needed alongwith proper marketing, otherwise you know what would we get on our posts.

How do I know if I am a minnow that is getting squeezed or not? I am still trying to figure out what all this stuff means. :)

take for instance my mom joke thread here: https://steemit.com/comedy/@i-am-zol/urmom-joke-thread

It fell off the front page in THREE SECONDS. Never to be seen again unless I pay actual money. This system is a little skewed.

Yeah, That also happened to me many times over. My posts generally remains on 'new' page for a minute and then it vanishes. I had to go for marketing my stuff after getting tired.

Isn't the marketing more about building your network (and/or community, however you choose to see it)? I was aghast when I joined and saw the new posts page - how on earth was I going to wade through that to find any posts of value to me? But then I took more of the same approach I would take to going in a pub - I said hello to someone I knew, had a look at who was joining in the conversation in his posts, followed a couple of them and where I had something to say, joining the conversation on their posts. Only been here three days, so I don't know how it's going to pan out, but I would guess some will become a core part of the network, some more peripheral and some (probably the vast majority) will come and go. I think the received wisdom is a ratio of 1:9:99.

Funny, cause your Mom said something similar to me actually ;)

HAR! I was on a trip or would have responded sooner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50