You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit creates accounts for scammers... and nobody else?

in #steemit6 years ago

This needs to be fixed asap. These are the type of things that leave a negative image on new users trying to figure the workings of steemit.

Sort:  

That's true. Now that spammers are all over Steemit it has become harder for minnows to establish in this platform. Most probably they also think the best (and sometimes only) way to succeed on Steemit is pay bots and spammers to upvote them, which in the first place should not be the case.

Bottomline: THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED, and ASAP in that matter.

Sorry to say, it will never be fixed. This is an economics and game theory lesson that unfortunately most people are incapable of comprehending.

a couple of weeks ago I started inspecting steemit from day 1. The reason this is not fixed is because it's meant to be this way. A small group ( maybe 1 company ) mined all the original steem using so many accounts it would take weeks of longer just to sort through them all.
Auto vesting was used to feed several accounts that became the orginal whales plus many accounts that do show some activity. Many of these accounts have just been drained of all value. ( within a week or so), Now thanks to reading this post I see I continues today :-( Is there a private place to discuss this activity? and discuss corrective measures if possible at this point. Let me know.

@codypanama wrote:

Is there a private place to discuss this activity? and discuss corrective measures if possible at this point.

As for a private place, a few of my supporters discuss this in private using secure chat (Crypto.cat combined with another layer of encryption employing GPG). Because of the demands on my scarce available time, I don’t really want to open up that group to more participants unless you can offer some insight or assistance (that we don’t already have) to the project I am working on. I do not know of other private discussions. You might ask @smooth. He is not currently in our private group, but he is very well connected overall in this arena and afaics for the past 4 years his ethics are impeccable. He is also a Steem and Monero whale, as well as being one of the developers of Aeon and I believe he may have funded Busy.org so we have an alternative to the Steemit.com UI. So if you want to get something organized outside of our private group’s plans, he may be one of the guys to talk with.

I’m working on it. That link will lead you to other links to more discussion.

James Corbett allowed my comment regarding this issue at his page that publicized Steem recently. That is part of Corbett’s new series covering alternative social media platforms.

The only other place where I know this was discussed was at several Steem threads at Bitcointalk.org. But I am banned from that site. The main thread there was Steem pyramid revealed. You can find comments from my numerous past BCT accounts in that thread (my numerous attempts to evade the ban before I quit trying).

Note I’m not going to continue harping about this on Steem. I am busy on my project. It is up to you all to carry the torch of edification if you think it is helpful.

I'm happy to see that people are actively working on these issues. I'm not a techy but started following bread crumb trails by hand. It broke my heart what I found, but see talented people are on it.
Thanks for the speedy reply, I will follow from a distance and only step in further if I can offer something of value to the group. Together we stand divided we fall.
I feel so much better now.
Cheers

Couldn’t this be fixed right now, if the delegated STEEM Power was revoked? Shouldn’t be hard to detect those schemes and undelegate everything.

I agree, STEEMIT will die if it is run by scammers and bots and not by people creating and liking real content!

yes you are right man,

I agree your comment

Congrats, you made the @dtube #steemitminute for today!

Click the Image Below

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57908.48
ETH 2913.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61