I feel disheartened

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

After a month on Steemit I've been loving it....telling my friends and family and anyone I run into about it.

Then after getting my blog going a gathering some followers I really felt like I was going somewhere.

What will I write about?

I regularly trade coins and I would let my friends know about good movement so I decided I would share that information with the community along side my carpentry and photography.

We have many in depth analysts that can offer a full look at the why and the long term trends but that's not what I wanted to do.

I want a nice light and quick update with some numbers and general opinions to help the novice and expert trader alike.

The journey

After a little over a month and 555 followers I have gotten many positive comments from ppl essentially thanking me for the quick update, and occasionally the expert would come along and explain to me how I'm looking at something wrong then I would adjust for the following posts

Aside from just coin movement I did some light news:

  • worth while Ico
  • developers developing
    *new tech etc....

I also spoke of a few possible scams I ran into i.e
Raisr
I stated that I was not sure if this was a scam but this is the info and I have indeed received my coins...

SLAMMING INTO A F#@$ING WALL

But all the problems can from when I mentioned bitconnect...
I ran into bitconnect a few years back and ran away from it as fast as I could read what it was about...
Fast-forward and Bcc is actually still around, prominent people in the crypto community are talking about it, people have made money and have actually pulled it out...

1st post Hey guys I'm making my initial investment

2nd post day 1 results

3rd post oh wait no third post because my account got flagged and unrelated posts were also flagged and rewards slahed EVERYWHERE...

Screenshot_2017-07-09-01-25-13.png

What did I do that was so wrong?? And is it taboo to even speak of bitconnect?? I don't understand I thought though this place was supposed to be more open than Facebook...

I don't even feel like posting after seeing what was about to be my best few days om steemit wipes out

Special thanks to @erelas he will be mentioned many times in the next post

From a disheartened Cryptohustler

Sort:  

To be honest I'm drunk, But all I write about is me and my experience in life. If I write about news? wTF is that ? how about the price of cyrypto ? woo hoo, nobody eldse has the same info 1 click away. Give us something ORIGINAL straight from you. That's what will keep me reading, But that's just me?
Just my couple of centes worth, maybe less maybe more. I never know hehe
Cheers

Oh i don't only do crypto i do carpentry photography and more

Buy the crypto updates i give aren't ones u can get easily unless your actively following the coin

Seeing the spike building up or as a big bear run begins.

Your thanks, if I was able to do anything other than whine loudly, are appreciation enough. I'll be honest, I saw something I considered "comment spam", and it came from a community group, and I promptly told them to get out of my post. Things have kind of gone downhill from there, their hearts seem to be in the right place, their intentions good, but I think their actions are centralizing what is supposed to be a decentralized platform.

The idea of community policing is good, up until someone starts walking around the neighborhood with a baseball bat, and that, is what whales can do.

I'm certain that I am not making friends there, and that's ok. I respect the concept and they wish to do good. I've no personal beef with anyone.

Thing is, and this might bear taking a deeper look at, they are vulnerable to unintended consequences. Those being, money is involved, and money here is power, or certainly can be, and if a group of Steemians decides a crusade is needed to stop a certain type of behaviour here and they use flagging as their bat, someone like bitconnect is going to notice that people using their link are being bothered. This bothers their bottom line, and they are not going to, unless it's proven legally, allow you to take their money. If they are innocent and there is an organized attempt using Steemit as a platform then Steemit is going to take the hit, both in PR and in having to defend themselves from facilitating libel. Then none of us will have a playground or audience here.

I mean is this from your book or do you come up with all these off the top of your head 🙌🙌

Truly is disheartening, when we have so much plagiarism with people copying and pasting whole entire posts this is what they are worrying about? This sounds like biased judgments forced upon us!!

Free Steemit!!!

Thank you for the support!

Wait, aren't you @cryptogaming too! It's not illegal but it's shady, just saying. Sucks about them coming down on stuff like that, but you knew in your heart it was garbage to pursue, should always follow your heart, stick to your art, your carpentry, photography, let the financial wizards and computer jockeys hawk the coin advisements, they see you turning a dime on their territory and they flag you to protect their glory and art, like a union raising picket signs on a site gone open shop. You're doing well to get following, but I followed you cause you seemed like a legit nice dude, don't get disheartened, it's a bump. You have two options, you either slow down, or you use it as a jump, to launch in the right direction. You've got the big fishes attention, now show them how well you can swim. Best of luck bro.

Well I thought it was garbage years ago but after research I don't think it is

And if we aren't allowed to talk about possible scams how is it that we can make reference to exchanges when clearly those have turned out to be scams.

I think that we are all grown ups capable of making our own decisions , I would have agreed to say that bitconnect is possibly a scam (as i said with raisr)

But it's bull**** when there are whales talking about the same thing and they are ok to do so!!

I don't like having someone else opinion forced on me especially when i make a post about minergate (steemcleaners come by)
Kings crown talks about minergate he makes 2k ok the post

Not hating on kings crown just on the system...there are others behind me on this

Glad your not heading out alone, see you've got a good guy in your corner. If the system is being unfair, fight it.

Yea i think it's pretty unreal that they just flagged all my posts and are pretty much saying that we aren't allowed to talk about it....unless your influential enough

Yeah im not sure i agree with the whole flagging system, i think it needs more checks

I couldn't agree more...this took all the gas out of my momentum...

Sad to see this abuse happening still. The flagging issue has been a personal concern with me for a while now. If Steemit is going to be a bastion of free speech, then the flagging abuse must end. I am encouraged as of late to see that Dan has recently taken action concerning some of this abuse, and I applaud his actions. But I feel that the flagging function needs to be taken down for both minnow and whale alike. It should, in my opinion, be reserved for administrators only acting upon clearly stated and established community guidelines. The random, subjective and unpredictable flagging that I have seen as of late reflects a wild west notion of vigilante justice that is just plain wrong on a platform that claims to be supportive of individual liberty and opposed to censorship. Again, in my opinion, the flagging function has been abused so badly that it clearly should go as soon as possible.

Do you have any idea what steemit would look like if there weren't people fighting the insane amount of plagiarism, identity theft, etc.. that gets posted every day? There are no steemit administrators and there are no official guidelines, everything is done on a volunteer basis.

There has to be some mechanism to fight these things and right now flagging is the only option.

I couldn't agreed more

Thank you my friend, resteem tov get the word out!

Did you contact people that run the cleaner and cheetah bots? Did you at least find out why you were flagged so you could address the issue?

Just thinking out loud here. I certainly never read all of your posts, I just don't spend that much time on social media. I was happy to see you getting posts out and leveraging the system though.

Yea i did and they are saying it's because of bitconnect...but that's ridiculous that we have censorship so strong here that u can't make mention of bitconnect unless your a whale

Andi only had two posts about bitconnect and they blacklisted 3days worth of posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05