So we can't resteem an old (past payout) post?!!!!

in #steemit7 years ago

231H.jpg
If you don't see a problem, you might not care for Steemians interaction as much as I do.

Good choices Vs Bad choices

I believe what make people stay is not (just) the money, at the very least not for me. It is for the interaction with Steemians. You create, you consume, you have fun, you get frustrated. This is what brings ore people onboard. What motivates me is when I get a real comment, from someone who actually read what I bothered to write. No wonder they made it worth to comment since you get money for it. I recall my first payout was for a comment. It felt very special.

Resteeming is a nice feature, that help you promote to your followers certain content that caught your eyes. Of course I don't like seeing only resteems on someone's profile, as they tend to go in all directions and that might not be why you checked that profile in the first place.

Resteem only before payout

... reduce it to express only promotion of content on which we have an economic incentive. I may be the minority here, but sometimes I just want to share something with the whole world.

I was surprised by this decisions, to say the least.

Picture from http://www.gratisography.com/

Sort:  

I advocate for the same thing: also be able to resteem older posts!

I don't think it will change any time soon, unfortunately.

I agree as well. Being able to 'link' or 'repost' or whatsitcalledhere is not only to buzz around newest things..

Hm... I guess it kind of make sense in some ways because every post is kind of a "currency" after 7 days.
It is like after you already sold your piece but can't be expected to earn more, yes?

probably we have to treat every content here as a "money printing" process for 7 days based on the voters' ability to solidify it through steam power; and once it is printed out, it is fixed in the Steemit ecosystem

but you might still want your friend to listen to the album you bought, even though they are not going to buy it.

What I don't like is that it reduces a post to its rewards, while it might mean different things for different persons.

Are you trying to point it as "copyright" or "royalty fees"?
I think we are looking at 2 different things. You are looking at public display art piece / music, I look it as an "auction piece"; and it seems, from my understanding, the price is not set until it is 7 days old (in full completion), so if the voters over loses their powers (during the 6 days period) or maybe it looses its attraction daily (I am not sure which), the "auction piece" looses its value as well.
But once 7 days cycle is set, the value is not added / subtracted anymore, because it is converted into a currency and this "value" is transferred around until it is transferred into Steem.

I might be wrong, but this seems to be what I have noticed.

Thanks for your explanation. This is exactly what I don't like.

If we want to be a bit more like Reddit, where people can come back a read a nice piece that was well written for whatever reason. On Steemit, it will be: post, make people read for 7 days then throw that article to oblivion. This means never look back at what was said on the blockchain, just focus on the now or the future.

That's not how I want to interact here.

I think it is ok that people could always return to come and read and comment, but expecting it to be paid, I think that's another whole thing.
However, if curation rewards are something that is "not from post" and maybe someone read your old post and you reply and get upvoted, you could receive curation rewards instead of some-what royalty fees

Then you have someone like me that comes along looking for the reason why I can't resteem an old article about Guccifer2.0's digital fingerprints on the West Coast, but was actually found to be on the East Coast, & then possibly in Russia, or then possibly not in Russia..& now that we have Dougan that has come forward as being the first person to meet with Seth Rich before escaping to Russia, etc... <---That's a good example of an old article that should be resteemed, because it's current news again now that we have a new player (Dougan) in the story. And here I am at another article wishing I could resteem it's explanation of why we don't have the ability to resteem old posts. So that's 2 people missing out on upvotes/royalties/earnings.

I'm a die-hard Steemian and I've remained here when everyone thought the sky was falling. I love the community and the overall higher IQ of our members. That being said, I am not liking how limited I feel with my upvotes. In the 11 months I've been active, I've always given a 100% upvote on posts...and now I can't for fear my vote strength will be drained.

I was going to take two days off without giving a single upvote because I was down to 50%. Well, I couldn't stay away! If my vote power is drained are my upvotes worth anything? I doubt it. This, in my opinion, has really hurt the community aspect. People are more cautious. I think that sucks BIG TIME!

Okay, I haven't been a big fan of resteems when they launched it but I do use it as a promotional tool for that author and I also use it as a way to easily refer to excellent posts/information. I'm already bent over waiting for something else to kick me.

Well, perhaps you could recalibrate your upvote reflex toward making complimentary comments. :c)

Unfortunately 11 full-power upvotes seems to be the most that a user can deliver each day and retain a high %. I'm personally happy to manage to keep vote power above 80%.

While I am sure that this is not the case in your case - some do mistake the upvote button for a 'like'. Its a curation tool intended to help indicate which posts are more worthy of reading than others. Thus, the limitation is what it is and needs to be worked around until the next adjustment. /:c)

and some actually consciously do use the upvote button a like. I am pretty sure I didn't make 2 SP by curation. I mean the most I ever got on a post was like 0.003 ^^. So you see what I mean.

Well since you are at over 90% voting power as of writing it seems that you have voting power management down pat. :c) As to why you always get small rewards - its possible that the comments weren't as appreciated as you thought that they might be - or you could be voting a little too hastily - resulting in most of you curation rewards going back to author.

That might be one of the things I don't check: my voting power. I mean unless you have a lot on your wallet, curation won't make you earn anything. So I am just voting to show that I actually like the post and don't think much about % of my votes. I actually never quite looked how it worked.

Well if you are interested in finding out more I do give voting power and curation some attention here.

How you use the upvote button is your choice in the end. ^_^

I know this is not what you had in mind - but you could always include links to such materials in comments or even posts. :c)

Such would allow you to share the information that you really want to share!

yeah but this is very different. I have to find places where it is relevant and do it! Basically I am not going to do that ^_^

This is fair enough. At least there is a way that isn't at the mercy of the activity tide. ^_^

I don't get this 7days limitation for payouts? Why do we have that?

Also, I agree with you. Limitation on resteem is affecting users. Most of people which came from Twitter or Facebook will be confused with this limitation. It will drive them off. Among other things which are social component of the platform but different than what people can find on other most known social networks.

The limitation is there to stop old popular content to keep getting money forever. Before there were two periods: one payout after 7 days and one after 30 days.

Steem has a lot of rules that are way different than twitter or facebook. I don't think that what will drive off people. It is more about the way the platform is use, the fact that people read less content while wanting to be read more. I thik there is a very low user engagement here.

Right now I'm pretty new here, I browsed Steem for a few days, and only after those few days I discover 'resteem', then that I cannot do it, then the limit, then got infuriated by its apparent silliness, then I read your explanation and it makes perfect sense.. No millions of points for Doge picture or RainbowCat etc just because they keep popping up from the history.

However, 7 days seem very harsh. Previous 7/30 sounds better to me (I'm a slow writer.. when I write something on my old site, people tend to notice it after a month or two maybe..), but probably there was some important reason why that was changed..

Anyways - many thanks for the explanation. This should be clearly indicated on Steem tutorials!

Well good luck around here. The documentation misses a lot of things so you might need to dig a lot to get answers.

Anyway welcome here :-)

Isn't there a way to resteem something old with a command line interface at least? If not, what is the exact cutoff for when something is "too old to resteem" and how was that decided and enforced?

Seems like a really bad decision. What does the age of a post have to do with whether or not we should be able to repost it? This sucks.

I can't help you with the command line. As soon as the post gets its payout you cannot resteem it, so 7 days.

This is the type of choices that emphasizes the money over the content and the community.

Quite informative buddy. Upvoted:-)

I agree with you and find this feature incredibly frustrating! The value of an article should go well beyond whether the author is getting paid for it. Surely the real point of posting is supposed to be producing good content that will last?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54266.19
ETH 2288.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31