You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Emojis on Steemit, how do we all feel about them? (and how to add them here, now!)

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hey Kenny, 

I'm so glad you mentioned this, I was looking for, Markdown, emoji codes the other day and I came across an emoji debate on, the meta.stackexchange, a guy there was asking for them. Quite a few people where turning their noses up at him, and asking; what's the point? etc.

He then gave a link to an article called: 

 7 Reasons to Use Emoticons in Your Writing and Social Media, According to Science         

Check it out, it's a really interesting read. Anyway, it reminded me of a series of sci-fi novels I read a few years back, which I can't remember the name of. In that universe, everyone communicated mentally on the affinity band and when you spoke over the mental channel, you would send emotions first, so that the person receiving your message would also get the context.

Emojis are great, they help us convey emotion and connect with people :-)

CG

Sort:  

Thanks for commenting, and thanks for siting that article! I read it and I agree with the 7 points.
Next thing I will do here is, see how we can use Emojis with the new Editor. Right now, I didn't even get the new editor when I clicked reply to write this. We're in beta so its expected to see experimentation and change on the site!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63060.85
ETH 3455.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51