You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit's Malicious @steemcleaners downvote ATTACKS

in #steemit6 years ago

Im not sure if that means that power is centralized.

I believe it's showing that without centralized power we are gonna deal with "local warlords" and noone ever will be able to protect you.

Steemit is in my opinion great example proving, that idea of decentralization is not always gonna be working fine.

I believe many things need to be centralized. We (as a humanity) didnt grow up to what blockchain has to offer.

Sort:  

"Warlords" fit so perfectly too. I know what you mean, but I still believe the true aim of being "decentralized", at least for many in the crypto-sphere, focuses really on equally distributed power (or sovereignty), as in a more Libertarian or Volunteerism form of what we call "governmental organization", more along the lines of what the Austrian School of Economics hits on some. Roger Ver especially likes to speak of this in his project, which is one of the things I really like about him. This is the sort of discourse I believe could add real value to the steemit community.

The whole distributed blockchain technology (AKA in the initial form of bitcoin) came out of the the cypher punk movement, most of whom believe more along those lines of Libertarian Volunteerism, as a way to eliminate the current "warlord" mentality of "capitalism". Steemit is an absolute complete failure in that aspect in my experience, and as I have read, Dan's intentions with steem II "seem" to aim to eliminate more of this warlord form of what I would call centralized power, based on the amount of money or value one has at their disposal to throw around, or at least move things more in that direction. I read a few posts on that and see many here in steem do not want to give up that ability to purchase (or have first in) power or influence to be able to lord it over others. Unfortunately, @adm is a perfect example of that "warlord" mentality.

You make a point that we are after all brought up in that old world "class" mentality and it is really wired into our psyche. So what we are really talking about is a complete paradigm shift in way of life on Earth. In reflection, I think in a way this line of thinking gives me more 20/20 hindsight as to what real lessons this entire experience I have had here the last 10 days can teach me.

As I read my own recent comments, I am struck with a clear battle within myself between the new and the old. In other words I now see myself going from the new in reaction to the confrontation with the old, rising up to take my power back with this original post, to falling back prey to the old "thinking", as an even larger million pound gorilla sits on my head forcing me to bow down and plea for help. It is an interesting observation - something I think I will chew on for some time. I believe it is the real purpose destiny brought me here to steemit.

So I really appreciate your comment, which led to this deep observation, @crypto.piotr :)

I really hope you're gonna stay here. Your input is enormous and I value our friendship like crazy already

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43