You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Finally Got my Voting Power Back!

in #steemit7 years ago

Thank you for sharing this! I'm still a relatively new Steemit user and am still trying to get the hang of everything. For instance, this Steem power and/or voting power are still some concepts I'm trying to grasp fully. Although I can already relate with that sad feeling of just being able to give $0 upvotes. There are a lot of posts/comments that I know are worth more than my $0 upvote, so it's quite sad for me not to give them what they deserve.

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your comment @cruziana. The voting power could be compared to the energy level of a character in a video game, which is going down as he performs some actions and has to be recharged to continue playing.

I see! Thanks for putting it simply! I do have another question... how does "powering up" work? Does it have something to do with voting power as well? And is this different or similar to reputation? Sorry for the questions!

At the top on your wallet you have Steem, which is liquid Steem that you can exchange right away to spend. When you power-up your Steem, which become Steem Power, your Steem is blocked for a certain period of time, like a saving account where you can't withdraw. In exchange you get more value on your votes in the network and interests I think are 2%. When you want to cash your Steem Power, you have to power down and it will take 90 days to get them back. One vote with 500 Steem Power is worth 20 cents at 100% for example and you have 10 of them you can do in a day. The more you vote, the more your Voting Power goes down and it has to recharge. Reputation depends on the age of the account, the number of posts, comments and upvotes you have.

I think I've read your reply for ten times but I don't think I've completely grasped it yet... haha. Maybe I need to experience it myself. The general idea, if I'm not mistaken, is that more Steem Power increases the value of your votes and it can decrease the recharge time of voting. Is that right or I misunderstood something? And, I see from your post that powering up can make a lot of difference, but why would I really want to increase the worth of my upvote (aside from giving back to the Steemit community)? :)

I thought your Reputation has more functionality here in Steemit, but I guess it's just really, literally, your reputation here in the website.

You need more time on Steemit and I believe you have read my recent post that explains more in detail about this.

Yes, definitely! I have, thank you very much for helping me out! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82