How to Get Lucky

in #steemit7 years ago
Get Lucky

I don't dance. I mean, I can dance, when I want to, but it's not really a part of my daily routine. When a friend of mine recommended that I read Twyla Tharp's The Creative Habit, I was skeptical, but I trust my friend, so I bought the book and halfheartedly started leafing through it.

And then I stopped, went back to the beginning, and began to seriously study it. Because it's awesome.

I'm a writer, not a dancer, but everything she talks about with regard to creativity is bang on for me and my creative process. Today I'm reading along and she has this exercise where she asks the reader to "make someone else lucky". I mean, what is luck, to you? When something happens that you weren't expecting, or that you were, but it comes in an unexpected way?

So try this on. I'd like to be lucky, say, by having a stranger pay for my gas. That would be very lucky, wouldn't it? I've pumped a lot of gas and not had that happen. I would consider such a thing a great stroke of luck. And yet, I have the opportunity EVERY DAY to make someone else lucky all by myself.

Just by being aware of other people, and by spreading the love, I can hand out luck all day long.

And what's better than that? Yes, I'd like to "get lucky"--in all the senses of that term--but I don't, by definition, have complete control over that. If I'd like to be lucky, though, there are a couple things I can do.

  1. Hand out luck to others. Generosity inspires generosity. Kindness begets kindness. It's a lot easier to get lucky in a world where everyone is handing out luck. Some of it is bound to land on me.
  2. Keep my head up. Luck comes by a lot more often than I think, and sometimes I'm not ready for it. Opportunities decay quickly. They need attention.

I remember this one time I was playing basketball, and we were losing by a couple with just seconds to play. I had the ball, crossed over the guard at the 3-point line, shrugged off the other guard, and floated the ball up over the outstretched hands of the center. It was a perfect shot. I'd practiced it thousands of times, and I was ready when the chance came.

I missed.

The ball clanged hard off the iron. I tumbled to the floor, knowing the chance was gone, and lay there. The ref just stared at me in horror as the ball--which had come loose and was rattling around on the floor--bounced on my back. I was lying on the end line, and the ball was now out of bounds. We lost the game.

When the ball smacked off the rim, if I'd kept my head up, another chance was right there for me, but I missed it, because I thought I had already failed. That was a painful way to learn that lesson. I've tried to keep that in mind ever since.

One of the smartest people I know said, "the luckiest people I know are the ones that are the hardest to discourage." It makes sense.

So go out and make someone lucky today. Steemit is one of my favorite places to hang out just because essentially that's all I do here--hand out luck. Yeah, it's only .20 at a time, but hey, it's something. It's what I have. And I find that on Steemit, I get lucky all the time.

~Cristof


Come to My Website

MINNOWS GOTTA SCHOOL

Sort:  

Even if we rarely seem to happen upon that luck ourselves, what a difference we can make by simply going out into the world with the intention of making someone else's day, no matter how seemingly insignificant our action. Thanks for sharing! I always enjoy reading your posts.

Thank you. I have to remember to hand out luck more often. But Steemit does make it a lot easier!

I like this post and I think it is interesting and well written but I wish you would mention how to make someone else lucky or how you think you could help someone else be lucky. Suppose you gave them some scratch off lottery tickets, that might make them seem or feel more lucky. I upvoted and retweeted this post.

I tried to, but maybe I didn't do a very good job. If you found a ten-dollar bill in your pocket, wouldn't you think that was lucky? You probably would. Well, then I can make you lucky by putting a ten-dollar bill in your pocket. And I can do that.

Yes. I think it is great that author, Twyla Tharp and you are trying to help people to be luckier. Affirmations, wishes and prayers may be other ways you could make them luckier.

Thank you!

We just have to work our way up yeah we have bad days where we make .20 or even $1 but that's success in our eyes

Think of it this way: four years ago Bitcoin was sitting right here. How would you like to have had a dollar of Bitcoin when it was at $2 per coin? That's where we are on Steemit.

The future has much to chance in the market itself as well !

Very very good read, inspiring thank you!💥💥

You're very welcome. Thanks for stopping by.

Great post ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99