You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit – We have a Problem

in #steemit8 years ago

Wow, @ats-david - what an insightful article, Thank You!

I'm here on Steemit primarily to write, and I would love to become widely read, but the problems you elucidate are really obvious to me. Even a problem as (presumably) simple as separating original writing from the "re-steemed" has been an obstacle for me. This fine article of yours is a perfect example; allow me to explain in a block below!

I only "happened" to arrive here because someone I follow re-steemed your article. One of the first things I do when I read an admirable article is to visit the Profile page of the author. And so, when your article resonated with me, I opened your blog in a separate tab.

Well, one of my personal criteria for Following an author has been the quality of his own writing. After reading such a fine piece as this one, I was somewhat dismayed to find that it appeared that the bulk of your blog was re-steemed articles. :(

Fortunately, I exercised sufficient patience to scroll quite a ways down through your blog and discover that you had, in fact, written quite a lot of other original material. Catching my eye, I opened and read "Divided by Government", and that absolutely "sealed the deal." Unfortunately, comments are closed on that beautifully written article; but know that as a result of reading it, I immediately followed you, and I look forward to reading more of your stuff. ;)

And so, I cite this experience as an example of why I think it essential as a very high priority to provide a tab or a filter that would separate re-steemed articles for each author ASAP!

All this to say, I am "in violent agreement" with the development priorities that you've discussed here. I'd like to think that I'm here for the long run. I also agree with what @dwinblood has added to the conversation and will be checking out his profile for sure. I too am a coder (most of my life) who would have to "do some learning" to contribute directly to this platform in a technical way, so I also probably will not jump in and code at this time.

However, as an author who believes I have some unique content to bring to the table, I am excited about the apparent potential of Steemit and dearly hope that it will be improved and have a long and successful run. I think your suggestions are spot-on, and hope that many of them will be implemented sooner rather than later. Perhaps I'll "chime in" with a few items on my wish-list in a separate comment, but for now, THANKS AGAIN!

Kindest regards from @creatr ...

Sort:  

It's not easy finding good authors sometimes, but when you do find them, you feel like you just won the lottery (not the Powerball, but maybe the pick-three). I can also vouch for @dwinblood. He's a good writer and seems like a good guy as well. So you were able to find two good users in one click. Sounds like you're having a pretty good night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42