You're new you're struggling and I want upvotes so bad for you but you are doing it wrong!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Good Evening Steemians,

steem.png

Very very recently I learned a very valuable lesson about the importance of curation and support to other new authors in the community.

I have been on steemit now for probably a month, I have been consistent with my postings and curations, I am a member of minnows support group on discord, I am a mini moderator and a soon to be DJ on a radio programme for discord.

Then tonight while I am sitting in what feels like 110 degree heat, I come across this post by @jerrybanfield. I don't follow Jerry I see some of his videos and yes he makes great success and knows what he is doing. But I just refuse to pay to learn something I feel in time I can learn myself. (No disrespect Jerry but there it is.)

So Jerry has done this post which I am about to link but before I do I need to ask you something honestly because tonight I am frustrated as hell.

Are you new, are you struggling, do you think your post is going to make hundreds of dollars??

Ok now here is the link, now seriously guys seriously I am not joking around, you got to read this post or watch the video.
Because there is a very important group out there called @curie which is made up of different whales. This group is looking to pay top dollar for good content, and not only that will bring you a lot of upvotes, comments and follows. My post in an hour made $200 dollars yesterday.

Here is the link go read it then come back here.
https://steemit.com/curation/@jerrybanfield/earn-steem-for-finding-an-undervalued-steemit-post-and-submitting-to-curie-1500598670-0433114

This is what steemit is about.

If you read that post the following will make sense to you.

You need to stop doing these things they are worthless and many people who are important to steemit, will not give you any attention.

You need to stop

Follow 4 Follow
Upvote 4 Upvote
Posting crappy youtube videos.
Posting crappy memes
Begging for follows and votes

What you need to do.

Write good quality content (search for help there is a thing up there called a magnifying glass type in a few words no biggie)
Curate (Stop being so god damn lazy with your follow for follow posts and comments and make some friends, read some posts give some updates and when you comment at least give the author some credit, about what the post was.)

Example of curation.
Good example.
Hey thanks for posting this wonderful article, I particulary found (Topic) interesting, you have my upvote and my support
Bad example
Hey great post. (This just tells the author well nothing really.)

Absolute No No.

DO NOT under any circumstances post a comment and ask for a follow, you have severely just pissed the author off by doing this, you have paid no attention to their hard work and made it about your self. That is like a punch in the gut, would you like it if someone does this to you.

Guys if you read the post by Jerry I am sitting here now looking for posts to give to curie and right now I am seeing nothing, nothing worth submitting at all. So please please please take note and get writing some content and I promise I will be looking at the new feed and if I see value, you have my submission I promise.

Questions.
By all means post your questions but I am not the all seeing oracle, I can only tell you my experiences.
Resteem
Share this with other newbies people need to see this, this is not for my benefit its for your's I want YOU to win.
Follow
I want to be your friend, follow me let me know whats happening and like I said create great content and I will submit.

Sort:  

Hey great post! haha kidding aside. I found your post very informative. before I am a big fan of Follow for Follow and Upvote for Upvote, but since I encounter different team (minnowsupport,teamph , womenOfSteemIt) I learned that the key to gain followers and supporters is to write something with quality :)

Now that is a good comment and get's my upvote thank you friend. :)

Well said we have been saying the same thing to newbies in Steemit.chat and some are hard headed and don't listen. This really is a great post. It deserves to be resteemed.

Thanks for resteeming, I followed you here and this post is great! I followed your example and resteemed!

This is a great post, It concisely illustrates some very good points. This is not twitter, where you have unlimited capacity to follow five thousand people. If you do that on steemit, your feed will be so crowded it will be difficult to find anything. This is not facebook, where you have unlimited likes to spam over thousands of meme posts. Do that on steemit and your votes will be useless. This isn't instagram where you post sexy duckface selfies and get mountains of attention.

Steemit is a different animal. Every vote has value, every post should contribute something of value to the readers. Every comment should add real value, expound or respectfully challenge the author and their audience.

Anyway, this is a great post and I will be upvoting, resteeming, and bookmarking it to share with people when I see the issues addressed herein.

Thank you so much for it!

Wow what a wonderful comment, thank you so much for your thoughts. I could not agree more especially what you said about the votes being useless if people are just spamming.

I've really wanted to read posts like these... But maybe if I did I before now would have linked "this type of people" to your post and never have made mine so I'm glad I wrote it first.

After reading many people comments that basically ask for attention. I wrote "How to Add Value to Posts with Your Comments"... your post @crazybgadventure, better describes the problem , my post better describes the solution (about comments, your solution of making quality posts and have them suggested to @curie is the best).

Do @curie upvote posts about Anime and Gaming if they seem made with enough effort? because that's what I'm writing about most of time~

Thank you so much for your comment I read your post with great interest and we do seem on par with our thoughts on the steemit community. I really liked what you said about the flags I was never sure of them and did not know how much they actually damage posts, so I just commented underneath the poster to make them aware of what they were doing. In answer to your curie upvotes about anime and gaming, like you say if the content is original then sure thing if not if at least the sources are credited its ok. But you can tell a bad post from a mile off where no imagination has gone into it at all. I just want these scammers to get tired of steemit and do one.

Thanks for reading my posts and replying my comment.

we do seem on par with our thoughts on the steemit community.

Glad to hear that!!

like you say if the content is original then sure thing if not if at least the sources are credited its ok. But you can tell a bad post from a mile off where no imagination....

I figured that much!! I'll try to make my posts more original (I mean I made a post I call original but half of it are Quotes that's why I was worried).

What is good about steem that's better than reddit... is the community that values Originality. that's why while I feel sad about all these Downvotes. I can't say they should stop... because in the long-term they make better community.... the only thing I wish is to give people a second and third chance Not Downvote Them At Sight.

Let's Make Steemit Better!!

thankyou so much for your enlightening post!

Seriously dude read the thing you just contradicted yourself.

great post. Still learning the ropes with this site. There are lots of hidden treasures by being on here day after day.

Thank you so much for your comment and taking the time to read it.

curating is upvoting a post not commenting on a post, but other than that good article yo. Keep up the good work

Sorry but I disagree curating is more than just upvoting

Lol, well what are curation rewards and how do you get them? Do you get them from commenting? No, you get author rewards for commenting. I will also agree with you, it's more than upvoting. But it's not commenting at all. Curation rewards only come to you from upvoting. And the better you time your upvote, the more curation rewards you get.
Now your argument might be something like.. curating is upvoting and then gaining a post more upvotes.. and if you want to do that, commenting won't really do much, resteeming might. I was just pointing out that you will never, ever get a curation reward if you don't upvote a post...

I know what you are saying, and I respect that but the point I am making regarding upvotes and curating is meeting people. Maybe even some that share similar interests, who will invest time in reading your posts tbh right now I would be just as happy with people commenting and not upvoting because like the comments you have just put this is feedback, it shows me what people like to read and what they don't like to read. I never really do this for the money...well not for myself personally, but more now to help other people in the community.

@drpuffnstuff you have been on steemit for longer than I have please don't think I am trying to be argumentative, thank you for the great comments you have left me and of course I will take on board what you said. :)

nah I know. I wasn't either. Sorry if I came off that way. Just tryin to inform you to make you a better steemain! Keep up the good work like I said in the first comment!

Thanks @drpuffnstuff it really means a lot your comment there. Glad my little posts are given such great feedback.

I'm a minnow too, Just trying to find my way through these currents in this huge steemit ocean.. Keep trying. Every follower you gain, is a step in the right direction yo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by crazybgadventure from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great post. You hit the nail on the head. Don't make it about yourself, make it about the community you know, build value. A rising tide will lift all of us up. Great advice my friend.

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 8.33 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @soundwavesphoton. Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77