Steemit Has Taught Me That Nationalities, Cultural, Political, and Religious Differences Mean Nothing.

in #steemit7 years ago

globe-32299_960_720.png

source

We are one community of people, regardless of where we reside on this planet.

Racial tensions, distrust of other religions, nationalities, and backgrounds are put aside. I don't care what your country's government is doing, or threatening to do. I don't care if the majority of your countrymen (and women) dislike America. I don't care about your social class - whether you belong to the wealthy and elite, or you are among the poorest in your country. I don't care if my country went to war with yours in the past. I don't care if your English is poor, or if you don't like the things I do, or this... or that... or whatever!

I respect you as a fellow human being, and as a fellow Steemian.

We are all in this world together, sharing many of the same needs and concerns. We are all on Steemit together - each of us working to make this a better community. Here we can interact peacefully. We can discuss the better things in life like food, entertainment, family, hopes for the future, hobbies, and our thoughts and opinions.

This is a wonderful place for us all to thrive, be ourselves, learn from others, see other parts of the world, and gain respect for other cultures, people, and points of view!

I am thankful to be here among you all!

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

I love being a Universalist :) Resteemed!

Thanks, friend! I appreciate that.

This is my belief too. I've thought about it a lot and traveled since birth - 57 years now. Out of the people people I encounter, 95%+ never see me and the 1% evil doers are too small to worry about. The cream is in the 4-5% of people who will step outside their life and connect.

The hitch to that plan is that the I get people close to me are often the least supportive.

I connect online now and see so many people referring to "others" by initials or denigrating nicknames. I try to help some but block the others. I have no time to change the whole world so I focus on those I can connect with.

Online that connection happened in tsu and still happens in fb groups. I think it might happen in Steemit. I have only been here a week, but I feel very hopeful.

I wish you the best as you grow here on Steemit!

Thank you! I'm all in for 30 days, and then we'll see :)

Nice sentiment, @countryinspired! I really like the global, multicultural aspect of Steemit. Especially with gardening and eating wild foods, there is so much to learn from people on Steemit that still use a lot of traditional knowledge in their everyday life. Gardeners are gardeners, in attitude and appreciation for the land and plants, no matter where they live! That's true for the folks that love the outdoors, too. And the love of family transcends our differences, too! We are all human! :D

Couldn't have said it better myself :)
Nice post @countryinspired

Thank you, @markwhittam! Your tiny home way of life is inspiring to me!

Yes! 🌏 💪🏽

You're absolutely right! Great post! I'd always thought that Canada was one of the only places I would find this sense of universalism. But now I've realized that Steemit embodies this in an even bigger way. It really is amazing. Thanks for sharing this :)

I appreciate your response! I can say for sure that my eyes were never open to see the kindness of other people across the world, until I started using Steemit. Growing up I heard that most cultures hate Americans because of our greed and lust for wealth and material posessions. There may be some truth to that, but I don't see any evidence of those harsh feelings anywhere on Steemit. We all just get along and appreciate each other.

Love it! We are all humans influenced by emotions, opinions are influenced by culture or social status, but those two don't mean a thing.

You are right! Also, unfortunately, the news and our governments are teaching people who to fear and distrust. I don't pay any attention to their propaganda any more.

I love the diversity in this community. There are people from all over the world posting and sharing viewpoints I normally would not take part of. The lack of endless memes is also a big plus!

Right! Where else is there such a worldwide community of people in one place?

That was said so well as most of the people here we dont know where they live or come from, just enjoy everyones opinion or if you dont just pass it, that is what I do so everyone is really happy here. Thanks for a nice post.

Thank you for your kind reply!

Featured here :) if you like to read some of my old posts :) I'm so lazy not being able to make more :)

But then again I'm reading so much there is rarely time :) and I'm not a good community manager since I don't have one around me :) That is taxing as far as I know, surpassing google is doing a great job, he's my best example of a ahrd worker for everybody, fi would be another one :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41