You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Reminder: CREATION with no CURATION Puts Steemit Off-Balance... Hands Up Who Else Is Frustrated?!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I too thought it was just me seeing this and chastised myself for being touchy. Now that I read that others are experiencing this strange phenomena I can exhale.

I have noticed the lack of upvote with some that I follow, not just on my posts but also on those I support. I read replies where some have replied to high earners that they comment mostly because they make more money doing so than posting -they called it piggy backing.

Also, I have noticed that some discord channel groups are producing an unintentional segregation. Vote only within your group. Comment first and mostly on your group to support them.

Sometimes I feel like I am intruding on posts bc everyone who belongs to a "group" is high fiving each other - which is fine - while ignoring the outsiders. It's like grade school.

I do get good rewards with my posts, don't get me wrong, I am grateful for that but I am concerned about this trend and don't know how to fix or address it especially when I see my friends get comments and no upvote, while up-voting the comment people who are riding on the coat tails so to speak. Not everyone looks to see if they have been upvoted by those who comment. I do bc I usually upvote comments and have stopped upvoting those who are there to make SPD on their comments.

Lastly, I do understand that newer people have less voting power. I know, I've been there and it's frustrating. At the same time, they ought to know there is a reason for it and it ought to be a reminder for them to slow down and ease into things.

Thank you for writing this and thank you for allowing me to put my opinion into words. ;)

Sort:  

Hi @countrygirl, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts... and enlightening me on some things! I wasn't aware that it's a 'thing' to group up and only support each other in those groups... what a funny attitude. I get it, but it's not very nice! Just like you, it's not only my own blog I'm concerned about, it's other bloggers I know who consistently put out wonderful posts, and hardly anyone reads them or votes. I too have noticed people comment without upvoting, and it's hugely insulting to whoever has created the post. If its worthy of a comment it's worthy of a vote! You seem to have a good way with words, and insight that could be helpful for the community... Perhaps you could consider doing a post of your own on this topic (please send me the link if you do so I don't miss it and I will re-steem). I think the more of us who bring these issues into community discussion, the more likely it is we can affect positive changes! Thanks so much for saying all this!

I'll give some thought to writing a post about it. Thanks though for bringing your concerns to the table. You did it in a fair and just way. I'm following you now. :)

Thank you! I try to keep things objective rather than just moaning from my own point of view. This is an issue close to my heart. I appreciate your support @countrygirl :-)

Right, I already brought up the infantile nature of school yard bully brawls on different threads about whales fighting each other over who deserves more rewards (Hint: none of them do! ;))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37