60 Days on Steemt | Things I LearnedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)



Learning how everything works on the Steemit platform by using the community has been a lot of fun these past 60 days. In a way it is very similar to the the video game Minecraft which was an immense success because the community was in a way the tutorial.

I've learned a lot of things the past 60 days and continue to learn more each day, here are some of the things...

Most important things when starting



There are some basic things you might want to know and understand when your are completely new on Steemit. Understanding the difference between STEEM | STEEM POWER | SBD can be confusing at first. Just take some time to look this up and fully understand it.
The one thing it took me a while to find out was the number below your steem Power. In order for your upvote to be worth something you need to have steem power. My current 586 Steem Power is worth about 0.07$ for a 100% upvote. The more you have the more the post earnings will go up when you upvote a post. The (+27.674) is the amount that is loaned out to new accounts so they start off with having a little bit voting power without owning that amount of STEEM. This amount can go up if you rent steem power from a service like @minnowbooster or go down if you delegate your own steem power for others to use.

Steemit Tools



Steemspectacles is a websites that shows you who your biggest supporters are. I try to do my best to keep track of this and give support back where I can. You can see where your own votes go out to on Votes info


I started to use steemvoter to automate my voting so the ones supporting me get automatic support back. You can keep track of new followers at Steem Followers. I try to have a regular look and visit each one of my new followers. The first number I look a is how many people they are following. if this is too high, I honestly don't bother unless they have really good content. I try to keep my voting power above 80% so my upvote is actually worth something and use Steemd to track this. Steem FTW can be used to track how long it takes to regain your voting power.

Sending Private Messages



You can send private messages on steemit by using # and a space in front of the message you send out...

Sending Public Message = typed message (everyone can read this)

Sending Private Message = # typed message (only receiver can read this)

Thanks to @twinner for this tip !

Making Posts Look Good



I've learned a since my start to make my posts look a lot better and more enjoyable to read. Some of the things and codes I picked up along the way are...

  • A good resolution for your first picture to have it fit in the feed thumbnail is 800x480 or 400x240.
  • You can make clickable links from pictures by using this code...
  • You can make tables if you leave a space above this simple code...
    Date|BTC|Bet|Odds|Result
    -|-|-|-|-
    17/09/2017|0.010|Raiders -14|2.076|WON
    17/09/2017|0.010|Chiefs -6|2.056|WON
    17/09/2017|0.010|Buccaneers -7|2.076|WON
    16/09/2017|0.010|Waasland +1|1.936|WON

Example how it will show:

DateBTCBetOddsResult
17/09/20170.010Raiders -142.076WON
17/09/20170.010Chiefs -62.056WON
17/09/20170.010Buccaneers -72.076WON
16/09/20170.010Waasland +11.936WON
  • You can make a post with 2 columns by using this code... (thanks to @jaki01)

    Example:

    Nitrogensports Balance

    0.24144 BTC (+20.72%)

    Total BTC Bankroll

    1.04144 BTC (+4.14%)


    70 Days on Steemit | Future Plans (up next)

    50 Days on Steemit | My Experience


    Let me know some things you learned about steemit in the comments
    Thanks to Everyone for the support so far!

Sort:  

Good tips here and I think you've inspired me to lift my game a bit with my own posts.

meanwhile at the @steemitblog headquarters:
"money talks!"

Yah, I know it's actually sad. Here, have some sweetness in exchange of forgivz:
17797289_1321498271219043_1962964786_o.jpg

I hate cats from the bottom of my heart but thanks :D

So did my human Coco....until she had one. No worriez...there's a first for everything.

I'm using @minnowbooster as a good way to use SBD to power up some more.

is this reliable then ? when I have quickly skimmed across this it seemed rather scammy! if it works then amazing for us :)

@minnowbooster works great. I have only used it a handful of times but each time they give me an upvote within 2 minutes and has been worth more than the 1 sbd I had to send them. Do keep an eye on how much voting power they have left though so you get more than what you put in. Definitely recommend giving it a try!

These services tend to be reliable and I believe it's the best way to convert SBD into STEEM POWER.

I only use it on posts where I have the rewards set at power up 100%. Some things that might be useful to know to maximise the return. Make sure to have a look at the @minnowbooster voting power. (it was at 50%+ when I used their service on this post and it gave a 8$+ upvote for a 5 SBD price.Also make sure you use the service within the first 15 minutes so the curation rewards go to you. after 30 minutes will lose 25% of the vote towards curation rewards.

So 5 SBD is good for around 8$+ of Steem power after 7 days and you get some extra post attention as a bonus. If anyone knows where to get a better deal please let me know !

Thanks for your 60 day update too.

I think if people are not sure how to use Photoshop they can always use canva.com and use the logo design template on there to give them a decent size for your profile photo as I think it is 500 x 500.

Thanks for the link !
I'll have a look at it

No worries like and your welcome too!

@costanze awesome post! I was considering doing a post similar to this about what all I had learned/questions I still have but you pretty much covered everything I needed to know. I will definitely start using some of the tools you provided. Greatly appreciated!

Good info dude, random question are you looking into doing Grand Sumo betting at all?

I never heard of Grand Sumo Betting.
My main focus in betting is on the major Soccer leagues and some US Sports.

ah I gotcha, the event is called Grand Sumo, it's sumo the sport not like a website lol.

I love this! Very helpful! Thank you very much for this info! :D will save me a ton of time :D

Thank you for sharing what you've learnt. These tips are very useful :)

Very informative. Best wishes for future.
Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58216.77
ETH 3142.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23