To Those Who Get Discouraged Making Content...

in #steemit6 years ago

IMG_8978.PNG

Hi Friends,

I wanted to play a music cover for you tonight. I thought it would be pretty easy because it's a song I know by heart and the chords were mostly easy.

After way more attempts than I will care to admit to record this song successfully... I finally had to stop for the night because it got too late and I didn't want my neighbors to complain.

Should I have just stopped earlier tonight realizing that for whatever reason this song wasn't working for me right now? Yes. 100%. But I'm stubborn and thought if I kept trying that I would end up with some magical and inspiring performance at the end. Sometimes it just doesn't work out that way though.

Why am I sharing this "Failure"?


Because it's all part of the process and shouldn't be hidden. A lot of people leave me comments saying things like " I don't know how you produce so much content while working full time and having X, Y and Z going on", or "You make it all look so easy!!". But the truth is... some days it just doesn't work out - even with hours of effort and THAT IS OKAY. Some days content will just pour out of you - and other times it will be a struggle - like it was for me today.

I guess the point of sharing this post is to show that it's not always easy. Some days are going to flow more than others. Maybe you will be wiser than me and realize when it's time to stop for the night (before a legal noise ordinance imposes itself), but to also give yourself a break if things aren't flowing easily - and feel okay about picking it up tomorrow. My fingers are sore from playing my ukulele tonight - but that won't stop me from trying to play this song again tomorrow.

I hope you all have had an awesome night. Maybe I'll have a music cover for you tomorrow... maybe I won't - but either way, I hope a few of you found this post encouraging!

Xo, Lea

21D684CB-CA72-4207-9485-43D5D4994863.gif

Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków


More of my Steemy Adventures


The Steem Sister Show Has a New Page!
The Steem Monster Show with @littlescribe and @coruscate
Watch My Talk at the Steem Creators Conference
Follow The Muse Project - Empowering Women on the Blockchain - with @ogc and @coruscate
Learn More About Mene 24k Gold Investment Jewelry
Sort:  

There is no need to call this a failure. Some things just don't work out, others do. That's life.
I am looking forward to a new cover from you, whenever it comes.

I've produced hundreds of images in the past two years, then shared them here. I think there's nearly one hundred nobody has ever seen as well. Wips. Works in progress. Hundreds of hours of work, just sitting there, unfinished. In most cases, I just wasn't feeling it. Didn't give up, just put it down. The next day I'll work on something completely different. A story, maybe, and that might lead to new artwork. Whatever comes naturally, nothing is forced.

Then some days, I feel like I have nothing. Except for this pile of one hundred head starts that will eventually lead somewhere. If it's too much for one day, it'll all be one hell of a lot easier the next. The time is never wasted.

Eheheh it happens. Maybe You were not feeling the vibe. Next time You will try it will come up straight away 😉

Persistence is the foundation of success!

Practice leads to perfection!

Every Time I feel demotivated I read this 2 sentences. We live in a hard world and to be able to succeed at anything it is required hard work.
And most importantly, failure is part of the process of learning!

Your mind is really appreciated, I'm waiting for the song, tomorrow or someday, whenever you will post here i must listen that. Thanks for the encouragement.
Best of luck @coruscate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60