Travel, Boobs and Frustration

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I've been on Steemit for just over a week and in this time I've gone through quite a few strong emotions. I've had a lot of joy and excitement, the occasional rage, but most often I had to deal with an aching frustration.
And it came from a combination of things. The first was probably my perfectly human envy at seeing people make much more money than I did. I was also constantly bothered by the uncertainty of my own abilities: are my posts not good enough or is this system not acknowledging my genius?

Added to that was the way every article I posted felt a bit like Christmas eve, where you expect something magical to happen the next morning and when you wake up you realize that you have no friends and don't believe in Santa. So you got nothing.

Ever since I joined I noticed that posts about travelling were the most successful, even more if there was a pair of tits in there as well. And since I'm pregnant and don't travel anymore, plus I never had a lot of booby power, I felt a bit disadvantaged. But the truth is that most popular stories are made by people doing awesome things, people with a lot of courage who are truly enjoying their lives, because they really have amazing stuff to share. And honestly, we all like boobies.
The informational posts are also getting hundreds of votes, and quite fairly since a lot of us still need help to get around Steemit and understand the concept better. I can't add my input here either, since a week ago I didn't even know what a cryptocurrency was.

So what can I do?

Steemit has huge potential, but it's still a baby. There's still a long way to go before members get diversified and more topics become popular. At the moment I'm a minority: I'm a girl, I know nothing about crypto and I don't travel much. But I realize that more and more people like me join everyday and soon I'll have a solid target for my not so exciting articles. Let's be honest, people get hundreds of likes on other social platforms for sharing their lunch.
Instead of getting frustrated, I decided to stay optimistic and keep writing the things I know about. All I need to do is come to terms with Santa missing, when my posts make no more than $0.03.

Sort:  

The key is sticking with it and trying new things until you figure out what works. There will always be posts you think suck or are dumb or are unfair that get crazy rewards. Such is life. Every day across the world, some idiot becomes a millionaire. Probably every hour. But so it goes. What can you do? Only what you control. No need to whinge or get frustrated.

Think about what you see working. Think about what kind of audience your content could get and iterate what you make. Good luck! If you need help, you can always ping me. Cheers.

You have my sympathy and share my frustration. However, I've also come to terms with the fact that I may not personally have any content to share that people will value. But, like you said, Steemit is still a newborn baby. I joined Facebook in 2006 when it was still only open to college students and I have witnessed that platform's development over the past decade. Like Facebook, I think it is probably going to take the Steemit website the better part of a decade to mature and reach its full potential. However, the STEEM blockchain and cryptocurrency has tremendous potential beyond just the Steemit website. Imagine Steem being rewarded to content creators on blogs and websites all over the Internet. I'm taking a long-term investor approach to STEEM and investing money into Steem Power. If STEEM goes "viral" and is adopted all over the Internet via such things as Wordpress plugins, a small investment in Steem Power now might reap huge returns a few years down the road.

This is just a proof that men can concentrate on 2 things :-)

Isn't this what you guys like?

No it isn't.

If you have nothing to contribute, don't pull your hair out about it. You don't have anything to contribute, so what? Enjoy the addictive social platform, check out some cute kittens, whatever you like.

Why would someone think they are automatically entitled to some piece of the pie on this new system? That's not how it works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28