Tag-You're It-"Your Favorite Historical Figure"

in #steemit6 years ago

Dear Steemians,

This post is in response to @cryptkeeper17's post on explaining about "Our Favorite Historical Figure" and I have been tagged to this by one of my best Steemit friends @davemccoy in this comment.

I would like to write about a simple person from India who got standing ovations from the people of America in the very first Parliament of World's Religions held in Chicago in 1893. It's none other than Swami Vivekananda, a great Indian monk and founder of Ramakrishna Mission who made India proud all over the world.

I some time back wrote this post on 155th Birthday of him.

Here is a picture of Swami Vivekananda.

800px-Swami_Vivekananda_1893_Scanned_Image.jpg
Source

He lived all of 39 years and introduced Indian philosophies of Vedanta and Yoga to people all over the world by traveling to most of the Western countries. His speeches showed the essence of Hinduism and nationalism and was one of the main figures in building patriotism among the youth in India and is still concerned as a youth icon in India. It's also notable that his speeches and writings influenced India's independence movement and some of the intellectuals like Max Müller and Nikola Tesla were inspired by his Vedic teachings.

The day Swami Vivekananda gave speech in Parliament of World's Religions, 11th September (in 1893) is observed as World Brotherhood Day and his Birthday(12th January) is celebrated as National Youth Day.

Although the original post by @cryptkeeper17 says it's about historical people, I am inspired to write about a living legend and a great sports personality from India and one of the greatest cricketers India has produced who is
nicknamed as The Wall, yes, it's Rahul Dravid, one of the only few gentlemen (although cricket is called as Gentlemen's game) cricketers and respected by even the opposition teams.

Rahul_Dravid_at_GQ_Men_Of_The_Year_2012_AWARD.jpg
Source

When he was playing cricket, he was known for his elegance, the solid defence while batting and the patience to play longer innings and that only made him to play 164 tests for India and scored over 13,000 test runs and another 10,000+ runs in the One Day Internationals. He was at the peak of his game when he announced his retirement in 2012 and the reason he gave was to pave way for younger cricketers which not many do in this generation.

The story doesn't end with his retirement from cricket as he took over the hat of coach after retirement and took the job of coaching India's budding talents in under 19 players and aspiring cricketers when he could have easily got the coaching job of some other country and would have got a hefty pay cheque in return.

He went on to coach India under 19 cricket team to victory in Under 19 Cricket World Cup held in February this year and guiding the 2016 team to final.

Couple of incidents I have to mention here why Rahul Dravid a true gentleman he is, after guiding under 19 team to victory, BCCI announced a bonus of INR 50,00,000 to him and INR 20,00,000 to other support staff and Dravid opposed this and said that he will take only INR 25,00,000 and the remaining money should be equally paid to other support staff as they have put the same effort as he did, and that shows how humble and respectful he is.

As the original post says we need to include nominations to this to get to know about other's favorite persons as well, and hence, here goes my nominations: @hitmeasap, @modernpastor, @lynncoyle1, @cranium, @mihail.tsvetkov, @jrvacation, @carey-page, @ansharphoto and possibly one of my favorite Steemians, @fulltimegeek.

Thanks to @cryptkeeper17 for starting this and @davemccoy for nominating me to write another blog and have some fun in that process and make others also write something on their favorite historic people.

Good day to all :)

Sort:  

This is very good @coolguy123... You taught me about 2 things that I didn't know. Both are very interesting stories about two impressive men... You can also tell a lot about someone by what they think is important. It says a lot about you when I read why you respect these men. It makes me even prouder to call you my friend knowing what kind of heart you have and what you think is important!

I'm happy that you took my tag and played @cryptkeeper17's game! It is always fun to see what happens when people try new things :)

Well, I have to thank you for nominating me to this, otherwise, I wouldn't have known that such a posts exists. :)

You know what, some people will never be forgotten and especially you idolize someone as a kid, that person will remain in our hear with a spacial place for them in our mind.

Swami Vivekananda is one such person for the youth in India, his teachings, his achievements mean a lot and hence, he remains as a role model for the younger generation.

Rahul Dravid, as I explained in a reply to @carey-page in this post, is considered more or less like a god for his achievements as a cricket player, his gentleman behavior on and off the field and now as a coach of young teams (coaching India Under 19 cricketet team and then India A team) and shaping their future is something he is doing with dedication and doesn't expect much in return which is something stands out compared to other people who coached Indian teams .

So, these 2 will be mo role models forever.

Thanks for considering me your friend, you means a lot to me not just because you keep helping Steemians, but because you are a good human being. :)

Good day Dave, lots of messages to respond today :)

Very good stories @coolguy123 I was not aware of either of these people, their stories are really unique and seem to people of virtue. It's ironic to me that the people have chosen to write about are less bombastic type, overly self promoting, but genuinely human that display less "superhero" traits than they do just high levels of humanity at the most important moments of their lives. Great post, definitely resteem-worthy, I am very pleased you took the time to participate in the fun and very educational exercise.

Thank you @cryptkeeper17, glad that you started this blog and inspired others to write about their Heroes.

Glad that I could come up with a post which people are thinking worthy of.

Have a great day :)

This is a cool challenge. I think you have written about both of these fellows before.
" one of the only few gentlemen (although cricket is called as Gentlemen's game) cricketers and respected by even the opposition teams."

I seem to remember you saying this about a cricket player in a past post.

Yes, this is another cool one and I always owe to @davemccoy for pulling me into such things by nominating me. :)

Yeah, I have written before about Swami Vivekananda and cricketer Rahul Dravid, but Rahul Dravid is my favorite cricketer and will remain as my favorite because of his simplicity, humbleness, unselfishness, encouragement he gives to youngsters and his willingness to give back to cricket as a coach without expecting heavy pays, because, cricket is everything for him.

Oh, you have so sharp memory and still remember that I had written about these people. :)

So nice of you @carey-page, hope you are having a good Wednesday :)

It is nice for a friend to add you to the fun. Thank you for nominating me as well. I have had some computer trouble over the last week. I think I am at the tail end of it.

It is wonderful to see people like Rahul Dravid who have these values. We need more of them in the public. He sets a wonderful example.

Thank you for the compliment.

Yeah, there is always fun in these nominations and the contests itself.
I hope your computer is back at normal and would love to see your posts.

Rahul Dravid sets high morale to himself and sets that as an example to youngsters who follows him.

I hope the environment there has improved and good for you all to come out of house and have some walk if not long trips.

More people need to set examples for our youth. He is changing lives, this is good. We each need to do our part for it all to change. Hats off to him. It is great that you promote him. This also changes people and lives. :)

My computer will take much work to fix. I do this to computers, that is why I stayed away from technology for so long. My energy crashes them. We are not sure how to protect the technology from me yet. That sounds crazy but it is what happens. I am using an old computer that is easy to bring back to life.

Our weather really has changed. I did a post last night on our water situation. We have a natural water flow through our property and it is overflowing now. Today we are going to get up to a high of +17 so the melt is on. We dug a deeper trench so that the water would keep flowing away from the house. It seems to be working for now. Today will be the hotest day yet so we will see how much water we get. The good news is it is so nice outside. We don't have to wear heavy coats.

I have grown in such a way that, I have been told to respect elders, people who give back something to the community and respect sportspersons.

I have considered Rahul Dravid as an idol among 1000's of cricketers India has produced just because of his humbleness, simplicity and his helping nature.

So, promoting him with people from other country gives me a chance to pay some tribute to my idol and I will be happy to do that.

When we like someone, we will be ready to do something for those.

My energy crashes them

Really? I didn't know that, anyways hope you get your computer fixed at the earliest.

Nice to hear about improved weather, I am 100% sure you guys will enjoy 17+ temperature because of the below 0 temperatures you had.

Also, it's nice to know that your natural water flow is overflowing and you will have more than sufficient water for the rest of the year.

It is very important to promote good people. Our world needs to see the good. Focusing on the good promotes good. So you are doing may people a service by talking about Rahul.

"Also, it's nice to know that your natural water flow is overflowing and you will have more than sufficient water for the rest of the year."

Our soil so full of sand so when we get water like this it usually doesn't stay. I sure hope it stays this year. The thought about it staying for the summer is a good one though. Thanks so much for all your wonderful thoughts and comments. Have a spectacular day.

Ah, sand soil is not of much help for that but as you say, let's hope stay through summer. I think t's just a bonus for you guys along with your overhead filtered water.

I am glad to know about new things there and keep questioning you about your nature. :)

I didn't get much time to comment on other's posts and I need to visit your posts as I couldn't do that since a long time.

I hope you are having a good day :)

Awesome post again @coolguy123, I saw it was featured in Qurator a few minutes ago! Very nice work sir, congratulations on the wonderful submission!

Thank you @cryptkeeper17, full credit goes to you and @davemccoy, you for initiating and Dave for tagging me.

Thanks guys, You both made my day today :) and thanks to @qurator as well for picking this post to feature in their Daily qurator list.

You got a 16.44% Prime Upvote from @alphaprime courtesy of @cryptkeeper17!

All Upvoted posts are considered for additional Upvotes and Resteem based on quality content criteria chosen by our moderators in an effort to give something back to the community.

If you have any queries, want to send a feedback or interested in delegating SteemPower to us please join our discord channel.

Please delegate us Steem Power & get daily rewards share!
20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500, 1000 or Fill in any amount of SP.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.66$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99