HEY STEEMIANS-- How many of your followers on Steemit are TRULY FOLLOWING you??

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I have been wondering this for quite some time now. Recently, I have noticed that whenever I post, I will suddenly get a massive influx of followers.

Not just one, or a few followers, however, sometimes as many as 40 or 50 random new followers. But the odd thing is-- no upvotes, no comments or interaction-- just deadbeat followers.

I was curious as to how many of my followers were actually following me here on steemit, so I decided to take a look for myself.

How-Many.png
Image Source

I stumbled upon this pretty cool site where you can check on things such as, most loyal followers (S/O to @nikolina), ghost followers and even dead followers. Here is the site, if you are at all interested:

http://www.steemspectacles.com

It turns out, that out of my whopping 1,222 followers on steemit, only 111 are truly following me!

1,111 of the 1,222 are considered to be--ghost followers-- which basically means they are readily active on the site, but haven't engaged with me in my last 100 posts.

Correct me if I am wrong, but this is absurd people... this place is supposed to be a COMMUNITY!!!

Also, 403 of my 1,222 trusty followers are known as dead followers. This basically means that these 403 individuals have not been active on steemit for over a month.

So there's the answer, at least for me... how many people are TRULY FOLLOWING you on steemit?

I will bet it's a lot less than you expected

Big time shout out and thank you to all of my real followers out there, you are appreciated more than you know:

@nikolina @daltono @putu300 @angiemitchell @jkenny @kylie-steem @the-beard @steemitri @drpuffnstuff @japaninpictures @garmia @lovablesoul

Sort:  

So true i have more than 700 followers and maybe only 3 real followers upvote me, thanks for your valuable post and have a nice weekend

I know it's a shame, but that's just how it rolls around here. over time, this number shall hopefully grow and more and more people will begin to organically appear. This is what I hope for, so the journey continues.

Stay persistent and keep steeming!!

I will, thanks for your motivation comment♥

My pleasure :-)

Hey Conrad! In the first months I was so surprised reaching 1000 followers, and now 1600, but I learned that the active ones are not that much.
I'm having a good time here, and in 1 year I never stopped blogging. I think there is some people who jumped in in December-January when the price of STEEM was really high... and now with the bloodbath of cryptos some users just left platform.
You can find some nice statistics on @penguinpablo's and @arcange's blog.
Have a great weekend!

Yes, of course, my time here as well shall not be taken for granted. I love this place and the people that are here. Relationships have been made and hopefully they will last for a lifetime, as I hope steemit does, too...

You bring up a good point about people coming on board when this thing moon-bounced, and then dropped back down to Earth. I am betting you are right on about this point.

I also think that some people have just gotten discouraged from the lack of attention, exposure and visibility that isn't made possible here. But, nonetheless, I still love this place and definitely do not indeed to stop anytime soon.

Thanks for dropping in steemitri, hope you have a nice weekend too!! :-))

Thank you for this @conradsuperb. It is an oxymoron - Steemit being a social community and people not interacting.

No, thank you. I appreciate you coming around often and showing your fair share of support, it means a lot for my journey here.

Couldn't have said it better myself... see you around

Cheers !

Oh wow I've to check it out. This would be interesting. I noticed the same thing. So many accounts that follow me but don't do anything. I hope this will get better. It sucks for the whole community!
Thank you for mentioning me ;)

yeah, they are just a bunch of spam/bot accounts created to simply follow people for no apparent reason I guess. I don't get why it's happening, but it gives this false sense of reality almost.

No problem at all!! I had to give it up for those that are still out there manually curating, you just happen to be one of those!!

Keep it up :))

Yea exactly! I hope this is going to change for the better! Or one day there will be more dead accounts than active accounts ;)
I hope you had a great weekend!

Yeah, seriously... That would not be ideal for the community-- more dead than active accounts. Let's hope this doesn't come back to haunt steemit in the long run.

Thanks, you too!!

Hi, I'm new to Steemit, but by reading some post and comments I have the same feeling. Plus there is so many bots with which interactions isn't possible...
Thanks for sharing, hope it'll change things!

Welcome! You will learn the ropes and see for yourself. Sometimes this isn't the case, but for many new users it is.

My suggestion is to comment, comment, comment and comment some more before you even think about posting articles. This will save you a lot of time and headaches. I wish this is what I did when I first started out.

Best of luck on your journey !

Hey thank you, happy to learn :)

Why are you suggesting to comment a lot before posting articles? To get to know people ?

Well, yes, networking first to create a solid foundation of followers is a much better way to start than posting and not having any upvotes to show for... this here is a very easy way to get discouraged and a lot of times people just give up. So my suggestion is to network first, then begin taking time to draft and polish your posts. Hopefully this brings about more exposure and visibility for you.

Hope this helped

I have noticed the same as well! To think I was actually celebrating achieving 500 followers last week!

hahahah yeah seriously, I can assure you I will definitely not be doing anymore #milestone posts for the number of followers I have lol I think i'll stick to celebrating the amount of SP I accumulate over time, as well as the friendships I make, too.

Cheers !

Oh, this also happened to me a few times, I publish a post and within a minute I would get 20-30 followers. So that made me think about the same.

I was trying to figure out with how many people I am actually interacting with and the number is not that big at all (compared to the number of followers) but I really do appreciate that small group of people/friends. :)

Thanks for the S/O! :D

I know, this happened to me more than once lol and then I was like something is going on here. I think these are just random scam/bot accounts created to do this, which is weird, but sort of expected in the SM application space I guess.

I appreciate the small group that I have supporting me as well, especially you!! YOU are my most LOYAL follower, so big thanks to you. I need to show you some more love, but this goes back to one of my other recent posts.... I NEVER see your posts pop up on my feed.... exposure here is tough. I wish i got a notification every time people I care about post, kinda like instagram.

maybe this will be implemented here someday. I hope so, but for now, the journey continues ;)

look forward to seeing you around Nina
have a SUPERB weekend, my friend !!!

I was going to guess about 10%. I would say about a 1/3 of my followers are fake bot accounts. You are discovering one of the absurdities of steemit.

Yeah, i thought it would be closer to 25-30 percent, but 10% just makes me shake my head. Crazy what is going on here; on both ends of the spectrum

Thanks for dropping by @armadilloman

I am finding you need a good 200 followers to function well here and that means....2000 followers I am afraid.

yes, I am afraid you are right on. However, it looks like you have created a nice foundation of actual followers that are interested in your stuff. I am looking forward to joining this bunch because, well, you seem like a loyal steemian, and your leather goods look pretty badass!!

see you around armadilloman!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 23.90% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @conradsuperb!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47