How to create a truly connected economy: Introducing Oracle-D

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-11-15 at 13.09.01.png

I have to tell you about Oracle-D today

... because if you didn't attend Steemfest, you may not have heard about them yet.

@Oracle-D is the brainchild of @starkerz and @anarcotech, and I would describe it as a service platform on the Steem Blockchain, that connects clients with service providers. (That's us! Read on!)

The way it works - from what I understand so far - is this:

The service providers are Steemit content creators - so Oracle-D is bringing income opportunities to us.

The clients are newly onboarded investors. In order to hire Steemians for a service (content creation for their project for example), they will need to make an investment and hold some Steempower. They don't actually pay for the service per sé. But all their Steempower is being used to upvote the content that was created for them. Which actually makes the client earn, too!

How genius is that?

And of course, the more clients/investors are being onboarded, the more the Steem price will rise, so that not only the client, but literally everyone in the ecosystem will benefit.

Surely there are many more factors involved, but I understand this is the vision and the best case scenario. (Correct me if I'm wrong, @oracle-d.)

Screen Shot 2018-11-15 at 11.58.42.png

Oracle-D facilitates a truly Connected Economy

What I love most about Oracle-D is that it has a business focus.

In this new economy we all need to be entrepreneurs. We can't continue to sit on our butts and expect a salary from someone for the time we sit in an office, whether we are creative or not. The world in which this was possible, will be over in about 10 years, when 50% of the jobs have been replaced by all the new technologies that are being developed right now.

We need to create value for each other. And the best way to do this in this new world, is in a way that's based on connection, compassion and collaboration.

Win-win is not enough anymore

The most successful businesses and economies will be the ones that create win-win-win situations for all parties involved. If we are not able to empathise with them, we won't know how to create value for them.

This is not just a win-win between the service provider and the customer anymore. There are many more stakeholders in a decentralised, connected economy. Investors, for example. And also the party that connects the client with the supplier. In our digital age, this party is a platform in most cases - a decentralised one in the best case. This platform should of course win as well, because without it, the other parties may never find each other.

Steemit is such a platform. The Brave Browser is such a platform. Even Facebook could be such a platform, if they were to share some of their ad revenue with us users (and not just steal our private data... ;))

And Oracle-D is such a platform.

Some of the newly mined Steem is paid to the content creators, some goes to us for running the system, and some goes to the client.

Our clients simply hold Steem tokens, and never give up control of them, nor do they spend them. In fact, they generally make a return on investment, as well as building an engaged, educated and enthusiastic community.

[From the Oracle-D website]

Screen Shot 2018-11-15 at 12.20.39.png

This video above actually made me well up. This is exactly where the work needs to be done: in communities and countries which can most benefit from crypto right now, where crypto is solving an actual problem right now, instead of being a luxury and "nice to have" for us investors in the Western world, who have "money we can afford to lose".

Little side note in parentheses

Today is the day when Bitcoin Cash will fork, which comes with quite some hoopla and drama around it. I don't even care about Bitcoin Cash but I notice that the general energy around this event upsets me quite a bit. [Bear with me, it's related.]

I am soo annoyed by the "war of coins" and "there can only be one" and "my coin is the best and I'm gonna destroy yours" that keeps coming to the surface, and I'm disappointed that Satoshi might be a megalomaniac and sociopath instead of that highly conscious being I hoped "them" to be.

And it's awful seeing all the old paradigm ego ways playing out in the crypto space. I thought we were creating something new here, that focuses on wellbeing for all instead of just power and profit for me me me.

The one thing that's still missing in the crypto space is empathy.

And that's why, finding out about something like Oracle-D couldn't come at a better time for me.

This is truly an idea born out of empathy and inclusion and creating a better world and compensation model for all parties involved. No ego here.

***

Seriously, check it out, see if and how you want to get involved; and if you can't really contribute in any way, you may still have a witness vote left over for the Oracle-D Witness.

Sort:  

We can't continue to sit on our butts and expect a salary from someone for the time we sit in an office, whether we are creative or not. The world in which this was possible, will be over in about 10 years, when 50% of the jobs have been replaced by all the new technologies that are being developed right now.

Yess! Glad we have a 10 year head-start on many!

We need to create value for each other. And the best way to do this in this new world, is in a way that's based on connection, compassion and collaboration.

Love it :)

Thanks for promoting @oracle-d, @starkers is a geezer and hopefully he and the team are on to a winner here - which of course means a winner for all of us!

I love that this world we are in is full of new innovations. Rethinking ways to grow, adapt, while being able to earn is what excites me. Still feel like we are all in on the ground level of something awesome.

“Ground Level” - yes, definitely!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah I believe so. I’m still so “new” to the crypto space...only jumped in about a year ago, but I see tons of potential and future uses. I do wish more shops and businesses accepted some forms as methods of payment. Yet While its so volitile, I can totally see why people watch from tHe sidelines.

Still feel like we are all in on the ground level of something awesome.

This is the hope/belief of many here I guess, I felt that at the Fest for sure :)

What’s your impression overall? You’ve been here for a while so you’ve have seen the changes and the development of new builds and applications. You’ve been through ups and downs before. What is your sentiment?

Very positive, price no indication of what's going on in my opinion. So we just got to collect more Steem I guess :)

Cheers to that. Kinda where I’m at as well. I have friends that want to point out whenever there’s a big taking going on as we’ve seen in the past several days. I just stock up more when I can and adding to my bags. I hope to take them all out for a celebratory dinner and drinks down the road, all on Steem’s dime.

Can’t believe that I missed you at the fest 😉

Missed me dancing? I didn't miss you dancing :P

How absolutely flattering to read!! Thank u so much! Well, steem is certainly able to serve clients and help us bring more steem in than we distribute, thus creating a net demand for the steem price! We just hope that this inspires more to set up their own businesses in this way!!

You can find @oracle-d presentation from SteemFest3 recorded by myself here:

🤗🤗

Posted using Partiko iOS

Pleasure 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh what a stellar piece of content, I love to see that one of my favorite steemians got hit by the @oracle-d bug :-)

I think I haven't been talking more about any other project at Steemfest than about this one. It's absolutely unique and truly one of the puzzle pieces that will pave the way for STEEM to the top.

Big like and resteem :-)

Thank you! Yes, I just had to study up on it once I came home! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

This was a great talk from @starkerz and such a cool project.
Thanks to bring it back into my mind as I love the idea.

Nice article pic!!

Thanks very much @detlev!

Super nice article I did learn quite a bit!
I agree that empathy is still missing but in all areas of our daily lives not only in the crypto space

True, but in many areas this is sorting itself out over time (e.g. current events: nature burning down houses of celebrities to remind them of what’s really important when you have nothing... this is all not a coincidence)

But in crypto, I don’t know. The Blockchain is modeled after how nature works and how natural networks (trees, woods) take care of themselves in a sustainable way.
I feel it’s up to us to make the best of what we have been given, with the right energy and best intentions right from the start.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Leaving on Nature to sort out on its own is a lack of empathy too ....imho, we should plan our every move in a manner that it proactively takes care of whole ecosystem. In that context @oracle-d is setting up a great precedence.

Thank you for this awesome and touching piece of write up!

Some how I missed you at the fest, but this post gives interesting information. Thanks.

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

I did indeed! Thank you, that was very helpful :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

As a relatively new user to Steemit, I often worry that I may have shown up too late. I appreciate learning that there are still innovations in the works and that there are many talented people working to make that happen.

You actually showed up at a very good time. There is a huge opportunity right now to earn or to buy steem before everything moves to the next level. There are a lot of project going to go live in the next year and hopefully they will bring a lot of people with them.

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL, I know it can feel like that but 99% of the world still hasn’t heard about Steemit, or keeps ignoring it. You can definitely still call yourself an early adopter :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess this post worked and others, since I could not apply due to the volume of already existing applications.

Hope it works out and hope to eventually get involved! Wouldn't mind using my drone and photography skills to create some stuff!

Yes I noticed that, too! Maybe it’s good to hang out in their discord channel for now until applications are open again!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36