HELP! My photography being plagiarised right here on Steemit..

in #steemit8 years ago

Ladies and gentlemen. We are being flooded with spam and plagiarism.

And now they're not even bothering to look outside of Steemit for content to plagiarise.

This user has used 2 of my photos here and presented them as his own.

https://steemit.com/photography/@vishal1/cute-kitten

If you care about the integrity and future of this platform, please downvote this arsehole into oblivion. Cannot express how angry I am right now. I'm trying to do Steemit the right way. I'm working hard to create original content, and the front page is DROWNING IN PLAGIARISM AND SPAM.

Sort:  

Thanks everyone who flagged appropriately. I will be visiting yall and following, commenting and Upvoting your best stuff.

Not even necessary, though I appreciate your support. :)
There's not a long list of things that get me red-faced as fast as plagiarism and photo theft.

Glad they got nuked. Rightfully so.

Also, it's got me looking a lot closer at the #photography zone now. I've posted lots of stuff. If something of mine went viral and I wasn't the one who posted it, I'd be livid.

upvote you repoty him and I might get your work on my tomorow's top 5 as an honorable mention.

thanks for informing us.

Ive been working hard on adding my signature to all my work, its a pain in the ass to go in and edit all the works, but it could help in deterring thieves. Plagiarism is rampant on the net unfortunately. Also, maybe posting a cease and desist notice in the comment area could help scare the ripoffers. I think it may be time to get some moderators on steemit.

Don't worry about his flag if he below than your reps . Fight the plagiarism guys !

I'm sorry darling. Your work is amazing and it's such a violation of your artistic....everything! Blargh! Do you do reverse image searches to find these out? or just stumble upon them?
How awful.

Don't let this stop you from bringing original content into the world. We love it, and will support the real deal!

@reneenouveau. I actively search out and flag plagiarism on Steemit. There is just too much of it, and too few people standing against it. Thanks for your support.

I agree. It's unjust. Thank you for taking up that burden. I'll sleep better at night knowing Condra is on the prowl!

Condra's impossible task is like trying to make a 100 angels dance on the head of a pin.

It seems that now @vishal1 is out for revenge, he suddenly started flagging all of my posts, WTF!!!

Anyone else that posted here noticing the same thing happening to his posts, I expect him to do his revenge flagging to everyone. This kind of behaviour just begs you to reply the same way! If you don't agree with a comment reply to it, even downvote it, but just because of that you start flagging posts that have nothing to do with the discussion... what do you expect to happen then?

Hopefully he will learn another lesson today on steemit, besides just not to copy somebody else's content.

He can't hurt you anymore. His rep has been rightfully destroyed.

Yes, saw that, I just don't like seeing downvotes next to my posts, especially if they did not deserve them.

Absolutely agreed. Thanks for the support, and sorry that it meant you get those flags from this arsehole. I hope some time the system will be tweaked to mitigate against "revenge flagging"

Yes, he's done that to me, as well - followed me to other posts and downvoted my comments there. Bizarre. I'm pretty new to Steemit - is there something I should be doing to protect my reputation? Some steps I should be taking?

I've been flagged multiple times by these

arseholes

who revenge flag.
Good thing is that their votes carry very less weight; bad thing is that mine ain't any better.

Just got here is it too late to be of assistance? He is down to negative 200 gajillion in rep.

He's plankton now. Thanks anyway! Much appreciated.

I hit the kitten once for good measure.

Hi in the cryptosphere you can use a program that will but meta data into your picture a bit like peer tracks that you find under music, also you can look at selling your images to a online distribution company let people know these are copyright images of your own work and point people to where they can use the images legally, I hope this helps, but like music sometimes it can help getting your images out but just make sure you have the meta data or encryption with in the image so you can follow who is doing what.

This is interesting. I didn't google this out jet, but can you give us some tips about a tool that we can use or any link, keyword... Is this metadata protected against unauthorized change? I'd like to learn more on this subject.

It really sucks to see your own work posted by somebody else without a mention of the original author or at least a link to the source. This way it seems that he is the actual author and he is actually not, and on steemit he might actually profit from doing that.

Most authors that make content, whatever it is, and share it usually do not ask for much... a mention is usually enough, but not doing even that and you finding out by stumbling on your own content posted by somebody else can really make you mad.

I wonder if reposting somebody else's content on steemit should actually count as commercial use?

I notice there are very few copyrights or creative commons licenses being used on Steemit. Do you use them? Would you recommend them?

I list Creative Commons terms at the bottom of my posts. Non-commercial, with attribution... no problem. :)

This response is just in general and not directed at you: If you can source images that for unrestricted use you'll be fine. If an image does not state that it is CC or free to use then you should assume it is not fair game for 'fair use' as Steemit is a commercialized platform. If someone that owns a photograph would like to pursue a copyright infringement case, it'll be impossible to delete your post unless you could affect a customized hard fork on the Steemit blockchain. Pixabay is a source that has such images that are available for use. If in doubt, read more here: https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/17/107

Lest you be tarred & feathered!

I either use pixabay or my own photos. And you're right, after 1st payout it' impossible to remove the photo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17