Understanding steemit and Dtube

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@onceuponatime/flagging-etiquette-and-practice

I just came across this article talking about flagging and the implications to it. In summary, the article states that flagging and downvoting a post or a video is up to the choice of the steemit user. Essentially everyone is an admin. If you flag another persons's post or Dtube video, the flag is irreversible or very difficult to reverse. It also uses up your daily voting power. This is because the vote goes into the blockchain making it decentralised and encrypted.

Me and my mate tested out the like and dislike system on Dtube. Unlike youtube as a platform, there is no unlike function and you can only pick a option of liking the video or disliking the video. For testing purposes, I disliked the video and I soon realised that the vote went to the blockchain hence making it hard to reverse. I also tried the flag button and then I realised that the function is irreversible. Thankfully I did not buy any steem and I also don't have much steem power so the negative effect was negligable. After doing these things today I realised that each steemian is very powerful in terms of their influence.

From now on, I will be extremely careful when choosing the like or dislike button on Dtube and the upvote and flag button on steemit. I will not be trigger happy on these buttons. You can probably see I retweeted a post from my mate. If anyone is reading this, can you upvote my friend's post to reverse the downvote. Sorry for everyones' inconvenience.

https://steemit.com/@tykinson

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80