Steemit Question of the Day - Producing Good Content

in #steemit7 years ago

steemit-share.png
As someone focused more on the content side of Steemit, I have a question for content producers. Those who take time to produce serious content...not the quick hits like the various challenges here. When you take time to produce a nice post, would you rather see a few whales upvote your post with a nice dollar return? Or would you rather see 100 people upvote your post with little money earned? I think the sweet spot is somewhere in between.

Having said that, I would rather have a lot of upvotes. If I take time to produce content, I want to know it is for a reason. I would hope that people are actually reading it. The payouts are nice, don't get me wrong. But the system of diluted voting seems to reduce the number of posts that people read/upvote. The curation reward aspect is supposed to act as a counterbalance, but it doesn't really. I'm not sure what draws attention to the posts that "go viral." But not all of them are serious content. That leads me to believe that they may be curation bait? I'm not sure. I'm still figuring things out.

I like the eyeball feature on the posts that let you know how many people have looked at the post, even if it wasn't upvoted. I like the comments because they demonstrate that someone actually read what you wrote, as well. As a content driven website, there are some things I would like to see as a user. It would be nice to have a feedback feature where we could directly submit suggestions to the developers. I know they would probably get deluged with spam, as this website is also a spam magnet. But maybe they could use a bot to pull keywords from the results? I don't know. I'm just thinking about ideas that would better reward good content, or at least allow for acknowledgment of good posts. I have seen a lot of them with very little activity on them.

Feel free to share your thoughts on this in comments.

Sort:  

I agree...the sweet spot is somewhere in between big bucks and interaction. It's a tough balance. I like the posts that bring rewards...I had 1 so now chasing the dragon but I also like the comments when they come in. It is more fun to open up my replies and see that people are actually interacting with what I post. Just need both to happen and then I'd be happy. Hundreds of views and some good clicks from whales.
Dangerous part is that trying to find that sweet spot is changing what I write about. I am choosing pictures that might attract viewers that I am looking for but are not necessarily the pictures I want to use. This platform is changing how I put together posts trying to find viewers instead of just creating exactly what I want. I need to be aware.
Thanks for the post.

If some of us minnows grow up together, maybe our content relationships will finally pay off.

Indeed, I find it struggling sometimes to keep my way of posting intact since it would be nice to have more views. But I believe that if we keep doing our best and being consistent with what we right, all the good stuff will follow.

Keep it up!

Great post! As a content creator, I share the same opinions as you.

Most of my posts take quite some hours to produce, and so I would prefer to be rewarded in views rather than having a nice payout and having fewer people reading it. My drive here is to be able to contribute to this platform with awesome content that might help people. So I guess it makes sense to value commenting and knowing that people saw your stuff. If money follows, then great! If not, at least you are doing what's right.

Keep up the great work and see you around,
Shaden

Thanks for commenting. I agree. When you spend hours invested in writing and you get one upvote, it is frustrating. Views trump money but both are nice.

Congratulations @coldsteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Of course I'd like a good reward on a post, but there are some posts that I'd really want people to actually read. I'm not very good at doing social media and this is my first blog. It's frustrating to see nobody takes the time to read something I've put my heart into.
Also, I'm not very happy with these support groups that give upvotes on just about everything. A very curious thing happened to me yesterday - some left a comment (not spam) and somehow got more upvotes on that comment than the number of views on the post. So weird.

Yeah. I wonder about gaming sometimes. Although I posted a comment that got a big reward by an upvote. So that was random. But I am always concerned about the abuse side here.

I would rather have the upvotes I struggle in this life yes but I don't care about the money that is just a plus I care about people liking my posts so yes I like the upvotes even if I only get one penny , great post!