You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Is Changing - How It Affects You

in #steemit6 years ago

If they do implement an account based voting system there is many other changes that would need to accompany that update to help reduce the amount of abuse right off the bat.
To your point about multiple accounts, there would need to be something that registers which IPs are using which accounts and how many at each IP. This is a scary thought in my opinion especially on a platform that is seemingly attempting to be decentralized. If a centralized authority starts banning people for making multiple accounts then I foresee a lot of anger and frustration in the future. Also, it would take many more man hours to monitor that sort of thing, even with automation. How many accounts would be allowed? Personally I know I had 8 family members in my house growing up. If people have to use multiple IPs to make multiple accounts then at least they would have to pay money to attempt abuse.

I am not disagreeing, these are just thoughts I had in response to your comment. I am not smart enough to know a good solution that would work.

Sort:  

You can mask IP addresses. I can show you how to do it and I'm not even much of a computer nerd. Bots and accounts can come from different IP addresses through proxies. People who take the time to make bots, sock accounts, multiple accounts, etc, can also take the time to hide/mask their IP addresses. You can remote control other desktops, that means other computers with different IPs. You can run accounts from different computers from your remote. I have used a remote to access my other computer. There are so many things people do and this is just from the top of my head of the things people do.

Remote control is still basically what a dedicated VPN is. That used to be the case a year ago and maybe still on some sites, but most commercial sites in the states I know of now have access to a database of all the fake VPN IP proxies and still ban you for using VPNs at least the last 9 or 10 months I've seen it since they began attempting to make IPV6 the standard for the internet. At least that's the case for typical top commercial VPN providers. They's got swarms of bots constantly looking to add new IPs to the list and maybe it works for a while, but sooner or later they catch it. It's been a real pain in the ass. That's why most VPN services have slashed their prices, because they no longer work for many sites.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81