Building a better GUIDE for NEWBIES...

in #steemit8 years ago

As I sit here in my house waiting for Julie to get home from work, I got to thinking about Steemit, and how it, and I have grown in just the few weeks I have been here.

For myself, I stumbled, bumbled, and fumbled my way around. I asked for advice, and got some replies. At first, I had a problem with the "Post" button! It seems silly now, but at the time, I just couldnt understand how things worked. I really didnt have a guide.

I know that with any new job, we need to get the feel and eventually our jobs will be easier. But that was not the case here. What we need are a few posts that are pegged on every new account that show each new user EXACTLY how to get started. Just after an account is created, the user would be sent to a Welcome! page. On that page, the new user would be able to navigate the difficult terrain.

He/she would be able to open up several tabs to get a feel of the site. In the Welcome! page, there will be the "dos and don'ts" Then there will be an article about how SteemIt is changing the face of social media. How it will benefit the "little man", and how the new user is important to the growth of the platform.

They will be guided through the site in a tutorial that shows how to post, what is the most popular subjects, all ranked for the day, and the lower tier users who need to be noticed. (Some of the little guys have some good stuff that is getting overlooked!)

The guide will show exactly how to give quality content, and how to get Steem for their posts. It will help them understand why one post is making a little, one post is making nothing, and another post is making a killing. It will show the new user how to find users through a search function, and give the option of chatting with their friends, in forums, personal chat, or in the post itself.

Once the tutorial is over, every new user will have a wealth of knowledge and be able to start off on the right foot. I want to vote for a proper tutorial. I am sure with this function, much of the confusion will disappear.

At this point, most of you will be telling me about the "white paper". The white paper is in a language most people find hard to understand. The reason is because of the technical aspect, or language barrier. One person should simply write up a guide and make it a pegged post.

If this is a good idea for those coming on who have no or little knowledge of what is going on here, please help me get the word out.

Also, if there is already a post like this, why is it not always pegged?

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and I hope you all give your suggestions>

:D

(Photo: bathmatecouponcodes.com)

Sort:  

That is a great post, and thank you for the reply...

Good and well-needed idea!

I have just followed you and I am happy to see what you post!
Yes, it is an idea that has haunted me for a week! I just hope the founders will add a pegged page.
Thanks! :D

Thanks a lot! I'm now following you too.

Totally agree. Many things missing here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55