An Alohaploy to Keep a New User, Some Comments Just Need Their Own Post.

in #steemit7 years ago

I had written the featured comment below in an effort to keep @alohaoy as a user on steemit. Due to recent events and drama on the site she has stated "game over" and is done with the platform. I first started with a bit of a troll comment in hopes that she would respond, the bait was taken.

I had been hoping to achieve 150 followers today and was dismayed when I received the mobile notification that @alohaoy had unfollowed me. I said to myself "my posts are that jam, who on earth would unfollow me, I must investigate". Upon viewing her blog the latest post had a thumbnail that read "game over" and she had unfollowed everyone in her list.

If you have been reading my posts you know I am an advocate of the platform and an active recruiter. This has been documented well if interested in past posts. After seeing @alohaoy's goodbye post, it seemed as equal a task to recruit a new member as keep a good existing one. Her post also meant there was a glimmer of hope, if she was really just going to quit she would have.

I proceeded to get the conversation going...

The household was chaotic tonight and we were having trouble getting the kids to bed. I could not sit down and answer how I wanted to at that moment. The kids finally passed out and I sat down to compel her to remain on the site. This was a topic I myself have been struggling with recently so it seemed a good opportunity for all involved. After getting it all laid out I decided it deserved a post of its own with a good explanation and context.

Here is to hoping you are indeed a real person and this post was not an alohaploy to solicit comments. I was having this very same dilemma earlier and this post was at the center of it. I even reached out to @aprilangel for her take on it.

I personally believe in free markets and systems, manipulation is always ugly and tends to serve the purpose of the few and not many. This was clear manipulation on all sides but at least here was an open discussion about it. In most cases you do not even get that to be honest.

I am not sure how many "movements" you have been a part of but there is always infighting and sometimes even sabotage from counter parties. Sabotage is something I would like to focus on here, conspiracies are something I do love very much. One would assume that the "establishment" would be terrified of a site like this and do their best to ensure it did not succeed.

I would like to point out at the near center of this controversy is a user with the name of a political figure. There is some irony in the selected politician and what he was used for and what the account in question is currently being used for. I am just going to leave this here and move on to the "bigger picture".

Intent, one can only control what they can and everything beyond that is just simply beyond it. If your intention is true and your work pure that is all that matters and all you can control. If this site was created by Lucifer himself and I managed to use it to find God, is that not somehow divine?

In the end of my moral struggle I kept thinking back to my mom's intro post. I had gone through the motions of getting her set up and doing the initial power ups. Helped proof her post and add pictures, when it was all said and done an amazing account of her life was on display for the world to see and future people related to her that do not even exist yet.

The mechanism that brought that into existence was steemit, without it that would simply not be. Any tool of mankind can be used in a positive or negative way, it is up to the individual wielding it. Below is a quote from my guru...

Anything done the wrong way with the right intentions will not work. Anything done the right way with the wrong intentions will still work.

I do hope that you will stay and help us build something of our own regardless of the intentions of those behind the scenes, we can do it our way, the right way. Not sure if you have checked out the 2017 features list but some amazing things are on the way to help in this very subject. Ironically one of those items will give you the ability to delete these very words from your post.

To infinity and beyond!!! :)

Not to sure on my closing there but I hope I the comment works. We will all find out soon enough, I guess. Please show her some love on her post also, every little bit helps so don't be shy. It is important to grow this platform, that means bringing new people on and helping cultivate the ones already here.

badge1badge2SteemVerifybadge3badge4

Sort:  

First of all, "alohaploy" made me giggle. Second of all, I don't even know what to say, honestly. I guess I posted my goodbye post sort of out of disgust and to let whom ever might be out there watching know that there is serious disdain for what's been going on. I thought about just doing the walk away and never posting again without a word, but then that stinks for the 60 followers that I had accumulated too. I sort of wonder how many users have done just that.
I had read through the @dan post last night + all the comments, and there were several posts prior to his yesterday as well with concerns over what is going on in the whale community. I tend to watch and read and notice how it starts to evolve things and soon post after post is griping, complaining, but sometimes trying to offer solutions as well. The thing is, those solutions, while really great for the community, will never be implemented unless the whales see fit. That is the greatest downside I've seen so far...so many have found ways to game the system that is in place already that it's never going to be a level playing field for anyone. In knowing this, it's not a decentralized platform at all...it's a government ran by the upper 1%. Who really are the good guys?
The other thing that I happen to know that not many others would is that mining and witnessing are basically off limits for the average Joe. The only reason I happen to know this is that my husband is the tech guru from hell and thought it would be fun to get into either one. However, both sides are cinched up by whales and the like from the beginning. Now, that's not a big determining factor for me either way...the hubby was bummed that he didnt get to geek out. But, I think that it just shows more collusion.
I also understand your point that the platform itself and the community growing on it is a really beautiful thing. We could ignore the dudes behind the curtain who are pulling the strings for a while. But, what happens when they get tired and the strings are simply cut? You could say we don't lose anything either way and just enjoy the ride for what it is now...but how will you feel in 6 months when you have put your heart into building relationships and a following, and it ends up being another MySpace?
I thought a lot about all of this last night. A long time ago I was a day trader. I saw many people get wrapped up in the wrong end of a pump and dump, day after day. I watched people lose thousands and thousands because they believed the sharks. I couldn't do anything to stop it. So, I quit. Last night Steemit reminded me of those pump and dump schemes. I'm not talking about Steem or SBD...I'm talking about taking advantage of the hopes of people who just want a better life. As things are situated right now on Steemit the average minnow starting out has no chance of getting more than a few votes here and there. I got lucky a few times and got noticed by Curie. I thought that was really great at the time but after reading the comments on @dan s post last night it seems Curie is just another avenue to scheme while appearing to do goodwill.
I am a real person by the way...this made me giggle as well because all I could think of was the Mad Hatter "Are you, you, Alice?".
Sorry for the rambling, it's 2 am. Anyway, thank you for caring enough to troll me, lol. I will take a few days and think on it some more.

Loading...

I have spent the three weeks before this wondering the same exact thoughts. I felt like I was reading "my mind". For this to be an enjoyable part of my life, I have to feel good about it.

There is the air of scaminess and fake figures with collusion and multiple accounts, etc. However, what I have seen in the past few days is the community coming together to try to watch out for people, and try to make sure we take care of the platform, and the transparency and the fact we can discuss these issues is why I keep hanging around. This is round 3 of some battles breaking out and each time, I feel like the community has stepped up and worked out the issue, or at least made it better.

The features coming down the road will assist in these issues a lot. Basically saying, "ok, create your group and go do your thing".

you get an email telling you exactly who unfollowed? didn't even know there was such a thing?

Nice. Thanks for making an effort to retain users. We need to support each other in the beginning. This is a complex platform and continued support will help others get past the negatives and see the users are building this platform as well as Steemit, Inc.

I love how you say: "If this site was created by Lucifer himself and I managed to use it to find God, is that not somehow divine?"

I am a Christian, as I was reluctant to join Steemit because God cautions His followers about following the ways of the world. But I see Steemit as a tool that can be used for good or evil. So I chose to join, and to use it for good, even if it is "of the world."

Interesting take, do you have any scriptures that relate to this? I would be interested in checking them out. Lately I have started to become under the impression that nothing is indeed "real" and this is all some type of advanced simulation. Our perception of things being separated is mere illusion and everything is indeed connected. So I would agree with God, I refer to it as "being sticky" though. This simply means to not carry around negative thoughts or emotions and be like water as Bruce Lee would say.

I take my first 15-20 minutes each morning to read passages of Scripture, and I highlight a lot of text, but no specific passages come to my mind right now. I just recall this lesson taught in more than one case. Most likely in the four gospels -- Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. If I come across some highlighted passages, I will share them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34