You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can a girl and a boy be just best friends?

in #steemit7 years ago

In my opinion one of the two needs to cut back his/her emotions and need to learn to live with that... but at the beginning, attraction played an important part of getting to know each other... that's why I think there can't be a real neutral best friends relationship.

So there will be a natural disbalance in such a friendship... if the balance gets to one-sided then maybe there will be some emotional pressure relief (normally too much drinks are involved :D ) and after that life goes on. If you appreciate that friend enough, then this won't hurt the relationship.

Another important aspect is the frequency of seeing each other... If you see the person daily and get in close contact then your brain will be flooded with so much oxytocin that the urge to get closer to each other will be irresistible...

Maybe I'm just too narrow minded. Nevertheless a really interesting question :)

Sort:  

Yeah, that also happened to me once. When I was in my twenties, my roommate was my best friend. One weekend we went out and in the middle of a club we suddenly started kissing. The next day we talked about it and decided to just leave it like that: a nice experience. In order to save the friendship we didn't go further.

From my today's point of view I believe that we did well. However, that one kiss might have been the beginning of something deeper as well. Who knows...

This thing called love is always a huge mystery, and that's one of the reasons why we can't get enough of it :)

Happy weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82