You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should There Be MANDATORY Accountability Partners on Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

You're pretty darn good at writing a catchy title (the entire post, truthfully), but the title made me click. I was thinking to myself, oh wow! what an amazing idea if we all had accountability partners! But I can't believe @sumatranate would actually want that kind of governance here?!?!

And then you got me. And then I was chuckling to myself cuz ya got me. And then I was like I knew I liked him!

My code of conduct took time to figure out and will likely continue to change, slightly. For example, someone said if you don't give yourself an upvote then why should anyone else? So I upvoted all my stuff. And, I didn't feel good about it. So I stopped. But that took time for me to feel things out here.

My Code of Conduct:

  1. Leave the platform of Steemit better than when I came into it (through writing quality posts, leaving life-giving comments, upvoting good content, etc.)

  2. I will never ask for upvotes or follows. I will never speak hate or disparage or manipulate others. I will, to the best of my ability, never be fake and never judge.

  3. I am building relationships with people who I admire who appear to live by these qualities; however, none of them are mentoring me or holding me accountable. This is actually the first time I've thought through what is my Code of Conduct.

  4. I am a non-confrontational person, which is not always a good thing. So, someone who acts differently, I try to see from their perspective or at least how they may have that perspective, respect that they are an individual with their right to their opinions, accept them for who have they are, and try to connect on our similarities.

Thanks@sumatranate for challenging me to think through and clarify my CofC. This made me a better Steemian.

Sort:  

I don't see myself as a rebel. I do like structure and rules, but I don't appreciate it when people say that we have FREEDOM and then don't allow us to live in that freedom. I guess you could say that I will operate in the box, but will keep pushing the edges of the box to see if they continue to grow.

Glad I could make you chuckle!

In regards to our codes of conduct, you bring up some great points:

  • they take time to figure out
  • they might change

And to be honest, once you think you have it figured out, they might change again. I do not think that I have wavered on the code of conduct that guides my life, but I have gone back in forth on self-upvotes and other important Steemit issues.

I really appreciate your thoughtful and genuine interaction with my posts. That means a lot to me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27