You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to tag Steemit articles

in #steemit7 years ago

What does "The first tag will be the main category of your post" actually mean? I'm digging through posts on tags trying to figure out how they actually work and I've seen that line repeated in several places, but like, "main category" doesn't mean anything to me absent some more context. Does that change where and how the post is displayed?

And why can I follow the tag-link at the bottom of someone's post and find an empty tag-category listing? Nothing trending OR new? Shouldn't the post I was just at appear in the category since it used that tag?

Thanks for your time!

Sort:  

I dont know the mechanics of it but I think it affects ranking. As far as empty tags, that is pretty common at the moment while the network grows and builds out communities some tags are very underpopulated

Regarding the empty tag, I was specifically talking about a tag that I followed from a post. So it appeared at the bottom of the post, I clicked on it, it took me to the trending page for that tag, and there was nothing there. The post that I followed to that page should have been there, no?

I mean, I'm not sure. Those are all implementation issues in the UI code and different people have different principals and priorities. But it seems weird.

I think it depends on when the original post was made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67