My personal rules for staying motivated to write and post for Steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Because of the reward system and the pressure to always come up with new and original content, often community member like myself run into a wall and often times have a case of writers block. I'm sure many of us find ourselves sitting in front of the keyboard trying to think of new material that might be interesting and worth writing about.

Below are just a few short rules that I follow in order to keep myself motivated and ensure that the material I put forth is the best that it can be. My writing is by no means perfect, but for me it's a journey that continues to get better day-by-day.

Rules:

  1. Write when you have something to share: I have seen many people set a rule of writing at least one post per day. My thought is why? It's unnatural to force yourself to come up with content on a daily basis and to me, may greatly impact the quality of the material you produce if you are forcing yourself to write or create something.

  2. Read other posts: I find this is a great way to support the community and your favorite content developers and at the same time help you generate new ideas and content to write about. Inspiration comes from your interactions and influences in your life. It's also a good method of fact checking and cross referencing material that can help your post. In general, you should be reading more posts then you write.

  3. Get away from your PC from time-to-time: Go out and interact with your friends. Again, inspiration comes from all around you. If you seclude yourself, the experiences you have to share are limited. This ties into rule number 1 and 2 above. If you have nothing to write about, take a break. Life will not end if you miss posting for a few hours or even a day. Enjoy your surroundings and you will find you have more to write about.

  4. Keep it simple: On occasion you may not have anything to write about, but that doesn't mean you have nothing to share. Did you see something while walking? Take a picture and share that with the group. Did you read an article or watch a video that you enjoyed or inspired you? Share it and inspire others. Although monetary compensation is what a lot of people seek, it doesn't need to be the sole reason for you to make a post and share. Steemit is about sharing experiences and collaborating. Anything you find enjoyable or worth sharing is welcome even if it doesn't earn you money.

I Hope you enjoyed reading. Please let me know your thoughts


Images from: Wisdomthemes.com
Sort:  

As someone new to steemit this post came right on time! Great tips!

Jerome "Smiley" Johnson

Spot on, I couldn't agree more!

#3 is something I have to be cognizant of. My day job consists of being in front of a computer all day and then add on steemit. Not healthy for the eyes!

This is good advice. I need to practice 3 more. I've been diversifying on the site lately, since I don't do a lot of writing. In addition to commenting a lot, I also play some of the games and I've created several memes, which was new for me and fun.

@cloh76 upvoted 100%

It's unnatural to force yourself to come up with content on a daily basis and to me, may greatly impact the quality of the material you produce if you are forcing yourself to write or create something.

you could tell when the writing is forced - it just is so different with the other posts created with the heart - consistency wise.

Read other posts:

yes, please, specially before you upvote. I appreciate it when some of my followers like @ace108 writes comments on what he sees needs "making it better" on my post. Sometimes, I do it on purpose to write a word or two that's wrong on my post. It's surprising no one seems to notice nor give a feedback about it. It's important to have feed backs on such posts. Creative should be written professionally and if not at least with obvious efforts. Its sad that sometimes when you're writing feedback for the purpose of helping - it could be seen as an attack. I wish we could all get open minded about receiving feed backs specially if it's intended to help us.

KISS it indeed ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40