You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why It is A Good Idea to "reinvent" the Wheel Sometimes. WARNING: Major rant!! Calling for a Whale Wake-up!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Yes I agree with your post here quite a lot @chelsea.

Part of my background apart from my massive love of playing the sax is social media marketing and naturally a lot of that is centred around attraction marketing. I am mentored by a younger brother I started paying more attention to at the end of last year when at the age of 33 he made just under $500,000 profit online and that is not to brag I am just making a point that i don't just have an average interest in my field and i am still very new here and blogging is a very new skill for me that I am pushing myself to develop and this has to be one of the most challenging journeys so far.

Been pretty smart myself it's so obvious how much abuse is here and I have not really got to grips why we don't see more whales trying to lift up the new people here since we are vital for the future growth and survival of this platform. And you are right chelsea, some people mistake true leadership with "Time Served" thinking reputation instantly gives them the right to dictate.

When I first joined my social media background influenced me to go look for facebook groups. You were the second person I met and if i could have gone back I would have chosen you to be the first because the first person i met seemed to help at first but ran a facebook group of 18,000 which actually has an average of maybe 15 to 20 people a day that actually contribute any real kind of value and the guy running that group was dictating. He's got people paying steem just to put a freakin link in the FB group whilst he idolises one of the top whales here who I see go into one one my favorite platforms dsound play some total absolute garbish and get away with a few thousand which kinda deflates the real guys sharing value struggling to hit a few cents. You Know Shit often runs down hill and when people see stuff like that it attracts a weird mindset of other people that idolise it and for me it starts to look very selfish and i do ask myself even now after 2 months how can we get more good education to new people how can we get more whales thinking " Let's teach these new minnows how to fish so they can grow and help others" There is nowhere near enough of them seeing the long term, it feels it's like get in get out.

I have met a few I have gravitated towards who don't carry the ego who genuinely do listen and share ideas. I love meeting new people myself personally and seeing others do well is awesome and I kind of got the feeling that this was going be more of the mentality that I would see here.

I am a big believer that your followers on any social media platforms are the ones that genuinely resonate with you and find value in what you share and have some kind of attraction to your mentality.

I joined a lot of facebook groups my first week and there were a lot of people just taking on this like for like and it does not surprise me that we have a whole load of people coming in and quitting very quickly because they are not seeing the long term value this community has the potential of building and we need to keep this value because it's what separates the concept of this platform from everything else.

Anyway I am so sorry I could go on but I won't and @chelsea I will say genuinely I loved your artistic mind set and even after 2 months of been here I'm grateful you still show your support on my blogs from time to time and thats whats nice about steemit you do come across real people who have a gem of a heart and wear it on their sleeve.

I do have a few ideas already in action could do with having a chat with you cos I also see you have an affiliate product I can share some awesome ideas with and you have been right from day one since I first said hello someone who does have some great value to share with others so you keep doing what you do enjoy your day stay awesome and tell me if you just smiled :)

Sort:  

Hey there! You raise SO many great points and I'm happy to see you haven't given up on Steemit. It's quite frankly refeshing to see your mindset on this. So many people aren't actually trying to understand any of it and that's why so much of it has gone awry.

I think I may know EXACTLY what you mean about that Facebook group. I too was in a bunch of steemit groups at one time. Before I knew it most of the groups were certainly not running well at all and I saw a lot of the shenanigans you speak of unfolding left and right. So now I'm only in two groups and I bet you know which two I mean.

Yes you successfully had me smiling. Thx for weighing in. Let me hit you up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61