Why Can't I Deposit Steem to Steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago

I trade currencies part time, mostly for fun, and I recently bought up a bunch of Steem on a trading platform outside of Steemit.

I had hoped to send that Steem over to my Steemit account, either in the form of Steem, or preferably as Steem Power.

Only there appears to be no way to do this.

Sure I could buy more Steem or Steem Power with Bitcoin, but I already owned the Steem, why couldn't I transfer it?

So, I searched for a way that perhaps hadn't been obvious.

I came up with hundreds of videos on how to get your Steem out of Steemit, but none on how to put it back in.

The only option apparently was to convert the Steem into Bitcoin and then to send that Bitcoin back over to Steemit.

That's...

No.

Not going to happen.

I'd tag the developers in this post, but I don't think that would help much with all the people screaming for their attention.

There needs to be a way for people to put Steem from external markets back into the Steemit ecosystem without having to go through Bitcoin as a middle step.

Kind of like when a corporation decides to buy back some of its own shares, except this time you would be allowing Steemians to buy back shares at their own discretion.

Anyway, just my two cents.

Sort:  

I just did it tonight. Bought some Steem on Poloniex and transferred it to my Steemit account. You use your Steemit nickname and your public MEMO key, and specify the amount of Steem to transfer. Once the Steem shows up in your Steemit wallet, you can power it up. Hope this helps.

So you use your steemit username AND your memo key? How so? With tranference of cryptocurrency, you can't make any mistakes or the currency is gone. Is it like this? (I'll use my steemit name and my bitcoin wallet addy in my example): > chamujama1GGFiaj1A1cWEh61hqyBmR1bdMxcrjHgBc < Like that?

Here's how to deposit Steem you purchased on Poloniex to your Steemit account. If you have an account on Poloniex, just buy one Steem token (real cheap right now ;-) and try it. After buying your 1 Steem, then go to BALANCES -> DEPOSITS AND WITHDRAWLS, then select the Withdraw action for your STEEM coin entry. Then enter your nickname (e.g. cognoscere), your Memo key that starts with STM, and an amount of 1.0 for this example. You can find your Memo key here: https://steemit.com/@your_nickname/permissions

I think that when I'd transfered from poloniex I'd just tipe my user name from steemit, no key. If you try with 1 steem first you can't lose much, anyway.

I just went and purchased a few more Steem on the Poloniex exchange so that I could share these screenshots. Good luck!!!

I have read the memo key is a mistake to use and doing so broadcasts your key on the blockchain and allows people to send you private messages. It doesn't make any sense to use the Memo key... shouldn't it be the Activity key?

Thank you. I searched google how to deposit steem into steemit and found this post on steemit. I havent done it yet, but i also bought 10$ worth of steem on bittrex and am going to deposit 5 steem into my steemit account. I will update this and let everyone know if it works. Thanks again!

I'm still wondering whether memo key is needed. Any updates?

Glad I could help, good luck @smartphone!

This worked, thanks

You can use poloniex for that,

  • Make an account on poloniex
  • Transfer to your Steem Wallet in poloniex
  • Transfer from poloniex to your Steemit account
    I highly recommend first sending a very small amount just for safety, also It may take some time to transfer, so don't panic! :)

So true. i have 500 steemit but cant transfer it. at this point im wondering if i should just reinvest when it goes up and keep posting on here for fun! Are you active still? I see this is 9 months old. Let me know!

Wish I had read this before I bought steem on the market. Thanks for posting

Solid article. I was about to post a similair post. The crypto space brings the biggest group of uneducated investors with it. This group will only grow. This means markets will be as irrational as this big group of uneducated investors. Besides coinmarketcap.com there is: https://www.coincheckup.com Since I use this site I make so much less basic investment mistakes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68706.20
ETH 3751.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76