Sort:  

Hi, have added you to our MAP Curator Trail for your curation work for MSP. Please see this post for details.

The first thing I suggest to any new user that is trying to figure out how to be "successful on the platform" is to actively participate and use the platform in a genuine manner.

I really appreciate this. If you normally write formally, write formally, but if you have a readable, but casual writing style that is fine too.

I think the worst thing I run into is the Google translated posts that make zero sense. Trying to explain how that is actually just creating junk posts that no one can really read on the platform across a language barrier is fairly difficult. Thanks for dropping by! :)

Great advice. Still posts like this always make me think of a great line from Styx: "I met a man who told me once sincerity's the key... and once you've learned to fake it son, you're gonna be home free."

Thanks to @tcpolymath, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thanks for the support! I'll have to check out The Daily Sneak.

Very true, it is a lot easier to be empathethic and interested about somebody who authentically likes what they talk about.

Very interesting thoughts @clayboyn. I´m new and still trying to find my way. Hopefully some of your recommendation will work for me. Thank you for this great post.

Resteemed and upvoted

I hope so! It's worked for me and quite a few others. :)

Finding a community that appreciates you for you is the key most struggles new or old. Many newer people might show up and write some really amazing stuff early on. Over a few weeks that drops as they don’t see it being worth their time.

The community I’m involved in Archdruid Gaming try’s our best in the gaming tag to find decent to amazing writers and at least give them a place to share their work. Many strike up some conversions with some other fellow gamers and hopefully grow. Many even take that opportunity and really step up and start giving back as well and try to spread opportunity around.

Still this requires people to find them. It requires them to click that discord link to join and do more than just say “hi” once in our general channel.

Many just want remain in their shells and not leave there blog for anything. Those kind of people will never read the blogs out there telling them they need to go out and explore. Sometimes there just nothing you can do to help them out.

I don’t know how many times I’ll talk with someone and it’s always “well if I think of anything I think people would like I might join/write about it.” Then I go into our feed and try to find a post I think they really want write similar to and I link it or the most geeky thing I can find. Then they realize that just being yourself and writing what you want to is all it takes. Yes, it won’t have some crazy wide range of audience like some subject. Those wider subjects are always the perfect way for a new persons to get 100% lost in the sea of everyone else doing the same exact thing.

If nothing else I just wish they would comment more often. Hard to find out about opportunity if you are not at least doing that.

Have you guys crossed path with the OPGaming crew? They started after the fallout from the Gamer's United server. Might be a good way to find more people and roll them together.

While I'm a new face in there we have several that are active in both communities. Some in OPgaming that are content creators to even an administrator. I mostly just pop in there to look around for any under valued gaming content I can try to help out when I find the time.

While I do see a lot more of the normal uses sharing to every gaming community they have. I think its great there are a lot of options out there. Always easy to spot those people as they tend to use our format and just copy/paste it everywhere lol "game genre,
type, and description "

You hit the nail on the head mate, being your honest self on this platform is probably some of the best advice. I also feel that discord has been such i vital part of making the most out of steemit. Being able to actively engage and develop relationships via discord is what has really helped me on my steemit journey so far.

I think Discord is a great tool, but honestly it just makes me think we need a better chat interface that integrated into the blockchain. It works for now though and it helps us find communities. Who knows, maybe in the future we'll see a decentralized version of Discord on the STEEM blockchain. :)

Oh yeah, that would be a HUGE improvement to steemit I think.

There's not many niches on steem yet for a lot of people to really be engaged in many discussions, IMO, which is personally my biggest issue.

You could always make a niche if you find one missing. Maybe other people are looking for a similar niche.

I do my best with speedrunning but so far I've only found 1 other person who is constantly around in about 8 months haha

Great post clay and nice DLive shout out :D

I gotta show some love to my favorite dapps if I'm going to talk about adding value to the platform. :)

You have laid out a sinple way for beginners to start here whike managing expectations which is tough for new and small accounts. I will suggest this post for many as they enter the platform. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64401.24
ETH 2782.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65