[ STEEMIT FAQ ] BLOG POST: UNTIL WHEN IS MY POST VIABLE FOR REWARDS?

in #steemit8 years ago

I did a little research (18 Aug 2016 GMT +7) and came up with some answers on this. I looked for blogs posted 3 and 2 months old. We know for a fact that we still get our 2nd payout after 1  month so I did not inclulde those post in my research.  Here’s what I have:

3 - 4 Months Old Posts Around the Month of May 2016


https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@jupiter00000/bitcoin-halving-from-a-miners-perspective
Posted on 19 May 2016
Comments: 0; Votes: 0; Rewards: $0.00. 
I tried upvoting it but it was rejected. I also downvoted it but also was rejected.


https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@emerge/paypal-with-bitcoin-on-modular-payment-service
Posted on 29 May 2016
Comments: 7; Votes: 0; Rewards: $0.49
I tried upvoting it but it was rejected. I also downvoted it but also was rejected.


https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@fuzzyvest/mycelium-new-bitcoin-wallet-offers-opportunity-in-crowdsale
Posted on 2 May 2016
Comments: 2; Votes: 0; Rewards: $94.01
I tried upvoting it but it was rejected. I also downvoted it but also was rejected.


https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@pairmike/the-bitcoin-reward-to-be-cut-half-around-july-11-2016
Posted on 7 May 2016
Comments: 1; Votes: 1; Rewards: $94.01
I tried upvoting it but it was rejected. Number of votes was reset to 0. I also downvoted it but also was rejected.


2 Months Old Posts Around Month of June


https://steemit.com/invest/@tracy-joy-lewin/why-invest-in-bitcoin
Posted on 10 June 2016
Comments: 0; Votes: 0; Rewards: $2.36
I tried upvoting it but it was rejected. I also downvoted it but also was rejected.


https://steemit.com/cryptonews/@acidsun/telegram-with-bitcoin-integrated-by-startchat-tech-now-available-on-apple-app-store
Posted on 7 June 2016
Comments: 0; Votes: 0; Rewards: $0.00
I tried upvoting it but it was rejected. I also downvoted it but also was rejected.

NOTE: I made a comment and here’s what I received: db().calculate_discussion_payout_time( *parent ) != fc::time_point_sec::maximum():


https://steemit.com/crypto-news/@thecryptodrive/bitcoin-price-rise-fundamentals--us-elections-brexit-low-yuan-pegging-and-july-2016-rewards
Posted on 11 June 2016
Comments: 0; Votes:0 ; Rewards: $1.35
I tried upvoting it and it rejected. I also downvoted but rejected.


https://steemit.com/brexit/@alyssas/will-brexit-affect-the-price-of-bitcoin
Posted 16 June 2016
Comments: 9; Votes:0 ; Rewards: $0.01
I tried upvoting it and it rejected. I also downvoted but rejected.



This however is different...

https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@teamsteem/bitcoin-will-be-worth-1000usd-in-less-than-15-days-50-more-than-today-s-price-of-630usd
Posted on 26 June 2016
Comments: 15; Votes: 28; Rewards: $54.18

NOTE: I tried upvoting it and it was accepted. I also downvoted it was accepted. I tried to revert my downvote but steemit says I don’t have enough STEEM POWER or voting power to remove my downvote. I also wrote a comment apologizing for the downvote I made. The comment was successfully accepted.


CONCLUSION


After two (2) months (60 days), your blog post is not viable for rewards, comments, or any kind of vote. It is simply there as a resource. As for editing, if you are the author, blog posts are not editable after the first payout.

When our posts are not viable for earning anymore, this is where the real VALUE is truly manifested. If people still read your posts after it has lost its earning potentials, then your blog post has contributed VALUE to steemit community in its truest sense. 

This is the reason why we need to look past the temporal rewards (earnings) of our blog post and look forward to its more lasting (the REAL VALUE) contribution to the community.

Let's make it a point that our post does not lose its VALUE after it loses its earning potential.


Sort:  

interesting , how you could not remove the down vote

steemit says I don’t have enough STEEM POWER or voting power to remove my downvote. I need to have enough SP or voting power to remove it. I'm not sure about the rationale of this. But this means that little fish like me should not downvote hastily because if you change your mind you won't be able to revert your down vote.

Any one should check their voting power before makeing downvote or upvote. Any one could check their voting power by going to steemit.com/@yourname, which should be more than 75 for doing that. Otherwise we should make comments first and get more voting power.

Thanks @lihua. But you probably mean steemd.com/@yourname instead of steemit.com/@yourname. The latter simply takes you to the user profile not the steemit account itself. With steemd.com/@yourname however, will show more detailed information about someone steemit account. But thanks all the same for pointing that out.

It's unfortunate that your writing can't continue to earn. As the platform grows it provides those with smaller amounts earned a chance to grow based on their older work. I guess the older work can help to find followers for upcoming work.

Your older work will be a resource for everyone to see and if they see value in it they will surely come looking for more from you. If we make our work an effort that will benefit others regardless of time then it will serve as portfolio of our achievements and track record.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61449.84
ETH 2398.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56