Steemit Beginners Guide: CommentingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Beginners alert.

In my short time here I have learnt a lot and I am satisfied with my learning curves. I do not earn a lot like my fellow Steemian but there are some tips I like to share to get started.

Many people realize already that in Steemit, commenting is another way to earn. I do agree with that. I learnt from @trevonjb that you can earn around $20-day from commenting alone. I like a lot of Trevon's posts as he helped a lot of people here.

What are the tips for commenting?

Read the Post

I enjoyed commenting at posts that have a lot of thoughts in it. One thing when commenting is to really read the post. Please spend your time on reading the post. By reading it truthfully, you can gather your thought and start commenting. Praises and thanks needs to have unique identity.

Study Case 1 - Read the image below

See that the author post on 'Introducingyourself' but the post is about quitting.

But look at the comments below, most of the comments clearly did not read the post as they are welcoming the author to Steemit.

That just some of it but it proves my point. Be thoughtful when commenting.

Comments to Minnows and Whales (make it 50/50)

Minnows are me, someone who do not own a great Steem power, whales are the one with super Steem power. You can check the list here https://steemwhales.com . What I would encourage to do is to comment at both minnows and whales. If you choose to comment only to whales it is up to you but I sure hope we help each other for the longevity of this platform.

Be Patience

Chasing rewards will eventually exhaust you. We must treat Steemit as a medium for learning and sharing. That is why posts are rewarded. I keep on commenting to the whales even to minnows (like me) to motivate each other for this wonderful journey on Steemit. I believe that at the end we will be rewarded for our efforts.

Below i upload some of my rewards in commenting alone. It is not much but it is a great learning curves to me.

I hope I encourage you to comment on Steemit,

Until then,

Jen

Sort:  

Hey I'm new here! I work in the surveillance industry and want to create a page where customers, and anyone who's interested really, can come to to learn about different platforms and get an inside look at some of the set ups around. I'm still learning about steem and cryptocurrency a like but your post and others like this have really helped so far and I'm looking forward to seeing what I can bring to the community and seeing how it will grow

Hi @insidecctv , welcome to Steemit family. Great comment. See you already have 9 votes for this comment alone and that is what I meant in this post. Keep up buddy. You will enjoy yourself here. ^_^

I made £0.43 in less than 30mins! I can see this being addictive

Yes. you were making more on comment than this post. LOL

Good information but I would add, make a comment that actually makes sense. It drives me nuts when I see people commenting things like: "Nice Post" or "Good Article"

Those aren't comments, they are reviews and add nothing to the conversation. How many times have you read an article where the author ends it with a question and asks for answers in the comments but the only comments have nothing to do with the question.

Steemers (I like that better than Steamians) are looking for feedback on what they are writing. People need to be a part of the community and give it to them.

Just my 2 cents.

Hi @johncalvin . You are right. You see the comments very robotic like sometimes. Steemers? If people accept it here I will use it LOL. Have a great day ahead!

I totally agree with you even though I don't even see those comments as reviews since I don't believe they read the posts they comment on. I just ignore them most of the time.

I'd like to see a whale make a fake article once (a bait title that looks normal but with some text against these people in the actual post). Just to see all those people saying "Good post" in the comments, it would make my day to see them fall for it !

hahah i'l be looking out for that for a screenshot! lol


Not directly related but what struck me recently was the case that an interesting bit of news was brought to the Steemit community by a minnow and earned 1$ and the same information (OK, with more elaborated & professional wording, layout and formatting, but in essence the same) was 2 day later posted by a whale and earns 500$.

Hey you. That is the world of Steemit. Dont be discourage, whales here are once a minnows, i bet they use to have a post that get one upvote that cost 0.00 too! Be patience, keep posting/ commenting and money will chase you. As you see I too not earn so much. Time will let you grow. Keep steemin' bro ^_^

cool, i begin to see more and more how this community is forming and will be improving over time! Made a good choice to join!

Loving the positivity! you will enjoy your time here ^_^

Agreed 100%. Commenting - i.e sensible and "intelligent" (sorry, can't find the right word!) is also considered as authoring and yeah, sometimes could make you earn more than the actual post that you made. It also makes you more visible to the rest of community and in turn you create traction on to your own page eventually. You can also start gaining your following by commenting. A lot of many other positive things can be said about commenting. So yeah! Commenting it is! 😉

I get your point. Tq for your comment here. Keep on commenting and posting ^_^

Yes, thank you! 😉

My take on commenting here on Steemit, or anywhere online really, is just being honest and adding value to the article by commenting on it. A few lines of informed comment can go a long way and might help someone along the way. Cheers!

Exactly ! ^__^ cheers

Absolutely agree, the first example is a punch line for users. 1 sentence commenting without actual reading the post is no part of the steem big idea, to share and earn for that, but only when you truly share.

It is a good advice to consider both minnows and whales, to balance the equation and also to be exposed to both worlds, a whale can be viewing a minnow post and vice versa.

Yes @sono.arquetip , let's help each other, the minnows

haha well, hear me, stop by i have a couple of posts already

Good post @cikxaijen, you've touched on an important part of the Steemit journey. Steemit is a big giant community full of all different types of people with different types of interests. You have to find your tribe and you can only do that by reading articles that you're genuinely interested in. This makes it much easier to join the conversation by making interacvtive comments and it's this that allows you to get to know people and it's getting to know people that gets you followers and friends.

Tq for your kind words. Commenting is connecting, how bout that? ^_^

Yes, exactly!

I think the comment you mentioned are from the many bots that are in control of steemit. it looks like there are more voting bots than voting human.

Yes. You are right. But there are some humans who copy pasted other comments. It is weird actually. lol

Thanks for this information. I am still learning about whales and bots and upvoting and such. I am mainly just sharing my nature photos and having fun exploring.

The best way is to learn by doing. keep steemin' !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56