Sort:  

You're right @chrisdyer, it is confusing!

Here on Steemit, we're all sort of still figuring it out, even those folks who've been here for a little while. One thing I'm starting to notice is that there are a couple of different strategies to (and purposes for) using this platform, not all of which are actually about producing content and gaining followers or votes.

One underappreciated purpose is simply to consume news and information from selected bloggers. For me that's about half my focus at least. For some, it's all they do here. Still, even just reading news and "upvoting" (curating) slowly increases stake (Steem Power). Actually engaging in comments sections increases that even more, and of course posting one's own content (if good), raises that gain to a whole 'nuther level. It can be a slow process, but if your intent were to just to use this as a news source (the same way you followed producers on other sites), it serves as well.

The platform is still changing so it may be that eventually we see more functionality to improve the experience (ie. the other social media sites have notifications that we currently lack on Steemit).

I did omit "resteeming" content, because, for the most part that doesn't seem to really make that much of a difference unless you are interested in getting your favorite authors seen.

I like how you called it a social media video game, that's funny... I love it!

I do think of them like videogames. I'm on many platforms, so I don't have time to be stuck with my head in the computerbox all day. I'll learn it on the go, I just find it hard to explain it to people who ask me when I don't quite understand that much myself yet. But now, on to some more Artventures here in Auatralia! :)

Oh hey Chris! lol We gotta hook up when you're back in Montreal. Glad you decided to join here, I'm telling other artists like @kaliptus "Chris Dyer is on Steemit, you should be too!" lol Hope to see more and more familiar faces on here. I know at least a few told me they're waiting for approval.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62339.62
ETH 2444.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62