How to join my Secret Voting Ring!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

myprecious.jpg

Well I am sorry about the title, I just thought it was funny because so many users are asking me to join the “Secret Voting Ring”, the truth is that there is no such ring. Let me explain what is actually going on.

Steemit is a platform where you can make money online and as far as civilization goes where there is money there is problems, seems like fighting over money is inherent to human society.

Lately I have been accused of being part of a secret “Voting Ring”, I never heard that term before but I think it means being part of a voting circle to game the system and receive profit. To make that assumption, user @sigmundnash created a python script to determine certain voting patterns.

The real reasons why some Steemians are successful

I believe many new users could be seduced by this emerging conspiracy theory, so I wanted to quickly summarize why his logic is faulty and the “Voting Ring” concept is inaccurate:

  • Many users of the “ring” have been on Steem since the beginning, so it is logical that we follow each other and as they appear on my personal feed I tend to vote for most of them, a very good example of this would be @kingscrown, @craig-grant or @stellabelle. I vote for them because I have read them for over a year now and I like their content.
  • Because some authors consistently make good content, they tend to get high pay-outs, because they get good payouts a lot of curators will vote them to get more curation rewards. This is a circle of course, but it is the way Steem is designed, you are encouraged to vote for posts that will get you good rewards.
  • Some of the members of the “Ring”, like myself, have written over 1,000 posts, have over 500 followers and hold a reputation above 60. With this combination, isn’t logical that they will get high payouts?
  • People vote on users who have similar interest. In my case I write and vote a lot of crypto related posts and I assume people who vote me are into crypto as well.

Hiding payout amounts

I believe it would be a good idea to hide the amount of money posts are making. To begin with, I don’t think its beneficial to be attracting users only based on the amount of money they can get on Steemit; secondly, some highly paid authors are becoming targets because of their payouts.

On my last post I got a comment that stated “This post is not worth 300 USD because…”. I have also seen lots of conspiracy theories surrounding well-paid authors, which makes me think:

Why do we need to punish Steemians for being successful in the platform?

Sort:  

I've hidden the payouts multiple times myself. Anyone can do it.

Many people want the world to be "fair" but we haven't really defined what that means in a way everyone agrees. All we can do is listen, learn, and do our thing. If there are problems, we fix them. If there are disagreements, we talk them out.

Oh I didnt know you could actually "hide" your payouts, would be good if it was a built in feature of Steemit tho.

Very interesting! Didn't know you could do this. Thanks for sharing.

Why do we need to punish Steemians for being successful in the platform?

Could not agree more!

I believe it would be a good idea to hide the amount of money posts are making.

I hope developers will start to think about stealth features for STEEM. Privacy enhancements not even on roadmap yet.

I think on any internet platform it is easy for people to be negative, just as many in real life blame their transgressions on the backs of the successful! I love steemit for that very reason. You see time and time again if people sharing there success stories. Post quality, post often and conversate often, and this will create success for you! Also, I really like the idea of having masked payout rewards. There would still be some payout stalking but it would take much more work. How do we bring this up to witnesses for a vote?

I've been here for 10 months and there are voting rings, in fact there have been many posts asking people to get together and vote for each other's posts, now I don't know if they work all right but they do exist, it isn't a conspiracy theory, now I'm not judging it, the platform is free, you think you can make money with a voting ring so be it. But to me the way to make money here is to tag along with a few whales and hope they will send a vote your way every so often. Unfortunately I have not made any whale friends, damn. Writing great articles is also a great way of making money here, but that one is more difficult, I am now writing at least one article a day and I'm still getting pennies per article, but at least I'm getting them on a daily basis. I make more curating.

Voted and followed my friend, it takes time and effort to get an audience.

I have not seen any evidence of the existence of voting rings and if there are I am sure as hell not part of them lol.

https://steemit.com/steem/@dream.pro/how-to-join-my-secret-voting-ring
It seems strange.... The same post like you have. It seems like he just copy-pasted

wow, such plagiarism! thanks for the heads up I will downvote it

Welcome! I was just shocked, I thought I already have hallucinations or something

I see you stomped it to oblivion (which it deserved). consider downvoting the phony programmer troll. I won't link on your post but check out my troll alert post... for my reasoning

You are so good people copy you damm... jejeje

damn all that guys posts are plagiarism!

I didn't check out all his posts, I was just surfing steemit while having supper and realised that I saw the same twice. If all of them are it's strange that noone noteced yet...

steem cleaners should have picked it up

I think so too, but for some reason it didn't.. OK, I think we'll see later:)

yeah they wont last long doing that nonsense

My precioussssss:) I love the rrrring, my preciousssss!:)

People are greedy and jealous. It's probably the same on youtube the guys who came first knew each other and could support each other and grow together. Now steem will grow bigger and bigger there will be lots of interesting people and they will all be able to grow big because their blogs are interesting and good. Good article @chitty. Cleared it up and I think everyone reading this will understand how it works. The platform is great.

Cheers,

ErnstJan

Because people are jealous and think the system is rigged.

When in reality it just the game of social media , you just need to know how to play.

Your voting "ring" reminded me of the Whaleshares hype and the fallout that it had.

People say many things. You don't have to care each and every thing really. Some even don't know the real reason behind fat earnings on some posts. You are a big whale. You obviously make so much money with each post as you have good steempower.
Treat such words as passing clouds. Don't have to take them to heart really. Good luck.

I actually found the "voting ring" theory kind of funny, but I still decided to wriet about it because some people may actually believe it!

Yes indeed. You have done a great job. People will know the facts now.

Some people just don't believe in working for anything, they think steemit is a get rich quick platform not realising or wanting to put in time and effort to build their following and blog.
Nothing in this world is free and everyone that's successfull in their lives be it on steemit or in life is because they've worked for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40