Learn How To Stand Out On Steemit While Maybe Keeping Your Clothes On!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Do you recognize this person?

The person join steemit, excited to be a part of a cool new blockchain platform, where he/she/attack-helicopter could gain financial independence (and a following maybe!). His/her mind is flowing with cool new ideas & information that he/she wants to share. He/she bangs together a cool article on how political correctness stifles open discussion. The POST button goes click and wait for the cash money to roll in...

...
sad2.PNG
Nothing.. Lets give ourselves a shamless upvote shall we ;)
sad1.png
"Oh cool it got an upvote! And 0.01 money!
...
Must be broken, I read something about a @minnowbooster somewhere.

The Void

It's fucking sad seeing your hard work go unnoticed! It sucks and hard! But spend a few minutes reading through here and you'll begin to understand. There is content being created every second and 98% of it wont grab your attention. It could be stuff your not interested in, obvious ploys for clicks or just spam. However what did grab your attention? Why did it grab your attention?

butt.PNG
Its silly and immature sure, but it got your attention!

So how do I get peoples attention then, you condescending random guy!

Analyse at the hot/trending posts and see what people are upvoting. Whats different about it? Did you find yourself reading till the end? What are peoples comments on it? Is there anything missing? Can you contribute that missing part? Can you make entire paragraphs out of questions?


The challenge here is, can you make an article that will

  • Make someone stop scrolling (with a title like "if I drink my sisters blood will she become a vampire")
  • Somehow link that crazy title with context ("I drank my friends blood, he isn't talking to me anymore")
  • Make the context of the article somehow helpful to the target audience that they feel like upvoting it at the end ("Did you know that my obsession with drinking blood has a name Renfield syndrome I feel thirsty mmmh" )

Let me know if I helped you or not by leaving a comment. Or upvote this and lets see if I we can get past the $0.02 mark!

Sort:  

I've created at "tree" of me and have not even done "introduceyourself" I am waiting to feel out my readership. Experimentation is key for me at this point. Always breaking the 25cents mark using tags like " @originalworks "

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @pastbastard. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chatman to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

I think you will be better off not taking too much notice of trending and hot, they are whale sections.
you won't be getting there until you are a whale.

I never even look at them, although I probably should.

Your at least a dolphin (I think?). Nowadays I would rather throw my 0.01c upvote and a thoughtful comment someplace where it counts, ie on a cool new post. If it means missing out on whalevotes ah well. At least I'm being authentic!

you can see how dolphin I am by the fact I just upvoted your comment and made it zero

0.0
I think we are all missing out on whalevotes, they seem to be going to whales quite a lot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97