You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Vs Facebook! Where is Steemit lacking and what needs to be done!

in #steemit7 years ago

I liken Steemit to Twitter. When I make comparisons it’s usually Twitter that springs to mind, and it’s the finer features I miss, eg the list function. However, those will come in time, and there are more pressing issues. Probably the two things that concern me most are No1. The registration time, as you mention it needs to be faster. It took me around ten days to get accepted. No 2. and it’s not one you mention, is the feeling that it’s just a place to make coin, rather than to genuinely distribute ideas. Until it becomes a platform where the reward comes from the act of sharing what you know, rather than the chance of receiving a few steem, I don’t believe it will thrive. Money is a great way to kick a behaviour into action (which I believe was the intention when steem was imagined), but it’s best to fade that out for a more internal reward. If you can’t fade it out then perhaps you’re in for the wrong reasons. Of course it will eventually balance itself if popularity increases, because the more users the more the incentives dilute. My thoughts anyway.

Sort:  

I mentioned that I am not relating steemit with Facebook, I am just making a comparison because of the popularity of Facebook.

The comparisons I did make are mostly related to user interface and account creation.

However if we go in depth there are many problems associated with Steemit like the you mentioned and other one being (Perhaps the biggest issue) that the whales always end up on trending page no matter what they write.

There are definitely some better content creators here on steemit who give up eventually when their content goes unnoticed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34