Steemit will disrupt the social news market - (Bye, bye Reddit) - and more...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Did you write an article on steemit.com? Can you now imagine to write somewhere else, where you don't have the chance to getting paid for your brilliant writing? Say, Reddit, for example. Ok. than you're like me.

Where's my money, Reddit?

Don't get me wrong. I still really love Reddit. It has awesome content. But why there is no chance for really, really good content to get rewarded in money? It drives me crazy. I know, there was a plan at Reddit last year, to gave the writers a fair share of the company or to integrate bitcoin. But they never did it. Don't get me wrong, it's not the point that I'm greedy (in fact, I am), but I think that capitalism really works - give someone a really good incentive and he will doing better than without. But how to finance this?

Then Ned and Dan came with a brilliant idea

Ned Scott, the CEO of Steemit.com told in an interview at coinreport what their initial thought was:

"Dan and I are similar in that we are motivated by the idea that we can improve the way of life for others. The state of Internet communities is imperfect – among the sometimes great content, there are also trolls, less than helpful comments and poor dialogue – so there was definitely a problem to solve there in the context of social media."

Their solution to this problem was this vision:

"Steem was born out of ideas about insurance and mutual aid: it was the idea that people would be able to help each other peer-to-peer if they were struggling to solve problems or needed assistance. It quickly grew into a much larger vision and Steemit was born as a place where individuals get rewarded by a community for posting and voting on content."

But how to finance such a reward for good content? Shares of the company, Bitcoin? Ok, you know the answer already, because you are now addicted like me for steemit. - It's the brilliant combination a social news plattform with a new cryptocurrency.

What Steemit.com did to me

I am deeply convinced, that capitalism is a brilliant system to create wealth and new innovative things (that's why my steemit username is @capitalism). I really want, that contributors of good original content are getting rewarded, because this will make sure that many good content will be created. That's why it is rational to pay somebody for creating value. And it's fair. That's why I'm writing now exclusively on steemit. Not, that I think, that all my posts are brilliant. They are only essays in the true meaning of the word. (And full of errors because english is a second language to me.) But I would like at least to have the chance of getting rewarded for good content, that I have created.

Steemit will disrupt social networks at all

And this thinking is spreading inside of me. The original vision of Ned and Dan to reward people for helping each other is now getting real. In the first step, we are creating content. But this is only the beginning. Imagine a steemit social network were people helping each other in every way, micropaying them easy and - the best - creating a new global cryptocurrency while doing it.

Ohhh, it seems this could disrupt the banking world as well. ... We're part of something huge.


Thanks for reading.
Follow me at @capitalism
Karl

Sort:  

Great post! Pretty much like most of us that got hooked to steem... rock on steem addicts

It's my third day on steemit. I still can't think about something else. And can't write about something else. It's really addicting. It's long time ago that I had found something like steemit, something about that I had to think all day long.

i just seven days old to.

Good content is relative to your perspective. The girls that get paid by the gentlemen of this site are providing "Good Content" to their clients who are in the mood for that kind of "Content".

You're right. Everyone has different interests. But in every interest, there is low and high quality in technical and creativity terms. And this is the field of competition. Or in other words: over time the girls have to be prettier or more creative to catch the attention of the gentlemen. And for their efford they should earn a good steem tip.

So I'm trying to understand this, if I don't agree or say something good directly about the post then I will get flagged? Which then cancels out my previous vote? I really think you are right about things averaging out in the end, just curious about the flag.

I did not flag you. Your comment was very true and helpful. "Good content" could be also one of the girls posts. Instead I voted you up. the downvote came from @gottod. You can see this by clicking on the little triangle right of "vote".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66