Dtube is Here and it is Amazing

in #steemit7 years ago

Dtube if you haven’t seen the recent news is a new video streaming service built on top of the Steemit blockchain and through IPFS to deliver nearly uncensorable adfree videos that can be monetized from the upvoting system. If you just want to check it out and not read the full article you can see it over at dtube.video. Take in mind it is in extreme beta at this point and was only really released two days ago. I would recommend upvoting anything the developer posts in order to fund him to make the site better and more user friendly.

I have for months been talking about the adpocalypse and how many creators on youtube are now unable to fully support themselves because they have been demonetized. Many people have been looking for a way forward and it looks like is dtube plays its cards right, it could be a real competitor in the market. This could also set off the demand for the steem currency immensely as well if people flood here.

I completely expect to be seeing new visitors and users of the site in the days to come and we should see that if there are a heavy inflow of new accounts created on Steemit. In order to post you need a Steemit account, so if content creators want to get online, they will have to take part in the system. For those people looking to curate, this could be a real step forward as you will be able to be a part of a system that will reward creators for their work.

I don’t expect many big creators to move here right away, or if they do they will most likely host on both platforms, but I do expect that those who have been removed completely from youtube for copyright strikes ect will move here in an instant if they can get a following. Many people might even move from youtube just out of spite for what they have done to the platform. There is a really huge use case here and if done right could really disrupt a mainstream market.

With more creators actually making their money from patreon rather than ad revenue, they really have no reason to stay on a website where they cannot fully express themselves without fear of getting a copyright strike. Dtube can really help aid this, as everything from music to full videos being posted won’t likely be removed. Not to mention that people would need to have a Steemit account to access the website, vote subscribe, ect, which brings more people to our platform.

I must stress that dtube is still very early on and it is not polished at all, in fact it is pretty basic, but that doesn’t mean it cant get better. The developer right now is thinking about working on it full time, which would be amazing, especially if he could even get more people to work on the project to make it as good as possible. For many who were on Steemit at launch and have seen the vast improvements in the UI, it is completely a possibility that dtube could get to that point as well.


Thanks to @Elyaque for the badges

Sort:  

YouTube wants to demonetize, filter videos, and control their content...as a result you get DTube. You gotta love the Free Market. So long centralized YouTube.

I love dtube! I think it works way better embedded here than a yt video. A lot of big youtubers are finding their way here, its only a matter of time!

I agree, just need to make the ui a bit better, but that will easily come in time.

So this is what people are posting on instead of youtube..

I will be posting videos here soon, I have a fully functional professional studio in my home and all of the necessary editing equipment. I am so glad to see this. I just found you and i am now following you, as I find people who share my passion

@lindsayimwold and I uploaded a video as a test. It doesn't load or play...perhaps it will soon? I've watched some other videos that are working on dtube but have noticed that some aren't playing like ours. I'm sure it'll be a great service given some time.

I noticed a problem a few minutes ago, loading slowly, perhaps they need much more bandwidth, i am sure they will figure it out

How does dtube handle copyright issues? I knows it uses ipfs so content is distributed. If a violation happens and a legal requirement (notice is issued to remove it) who handles it? who is responsible? witness nodes? seed nodes?...Everyone knows this is coming ? all the excitement aside, this has to work with the legal structure !!!!

I just gave dtube a try, being looking for an alternative to YouTube, I think I found it. Is there away for videos to only got to dtube instead of both dtube and steemit? I don't want my followers to think I am posting the same videos.

First it was #viewly now comes dtube. The steemit ecosystem is developing at an amazing pace.
Thanks for beaming the spot light on dtube, going to check it out right away

So I just tried uploading my fisrt video and it's quie glitchy and it keeps freezing / not playing... I hope that the developer fixes those little bugs because I'm ready to upoad all my videos to Dtube if I can get it to work properly :)

Haha I was just checking out Dtube and linked my account there. I hope this will get huge!

Thanks for the information on dTube. People are fleeing Youtube in droves and it's just going to increase as they begin their "time out" for opposing view-points policy. I wrote a short article on the Pros and Cons of dTube

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49